Koh Samet


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Ko Samet
October 27th 2006
Published: December 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ban PaeBan PaeBan Pae

The boat to Koh Samet leaves from Ban Pae
Our trip to Koh Samet involved a four hour bus ride from Bangkok to Ban Pae and then a 30 minute boat ride over to the island of Koh Samet. We arrived at Ban Pae on sunset and the view on the boat ride over to the island was beautiful. It was dark by the time we arrived so we got in a taxi (back of a ute) and commenced on a very bumpy drive around to Jep's Bungalows.

The island is well known amongst locals and on the weekends hundreds of Thais make there way to the island for some R&R. It is a reatively small island which is predominately made up of national park.

We managed to secure the last bunglaows available at Jeps, got ourselves settled and then made our way across to the bar and restaurant (this was on the beach). After a few drinks we decided to go for a wander along the beach and came across a bar that was packed and pumping (and selling the infamous buckets). I introduced Lynette and Maz to the wonderful world of buckets and before you knew it we were all very merry, dancing and generally having
BucketsBucketsBuckets

These were filled with Vodka, red bull and lemonade. And I wondered why I felt ill the next day!!!!
a great time. I think I stumbled back to the bungalows as the sun was rising at about 5am.

The next day I was somewhat sick (in fact, I haven't been that sick for a long long time) so spent a great portion of the day enjoying the inside walls of my bungalow. I am sure it was something that I ate!!!! Lynette and Maz spent the day on the beach, get massages and Lynette got her hair braided.

Thankfully the next day I was feeling human again so we decided to rent scooters and ride around the island. I was hesitant after my last bike riding experience in Thailand all those years ago but was persuaded as scooters are not as powerful or as hard to ride as motor bikes.

The island is really beautiful (as you can see from my pics) and we nearly made it the whole way around. We stopped as the roads on this island are not tarred and some of the worst roads I have ever driven on before in my life. At it rains most nights (it is the rainy season) there is also a large number of puddles as
Jeps Bungalows - Ao Phai BeachJeps Bungalows - Ao Phai BeachJeps Bungalows - Ao Phai Beach

The view from our Bungalow
well. It made for slow riding and some nervous moments (Maz had a fall and Lynette had the bike fall on her) and when we were just about at the end of the road a guy stopped and said "I thought I was the only crazy person attempting to go on this road on a bike". He looked like he had been riding for years, and was wearing a helmet (which of course we weren't), so this made us all exceptionally nervous. We ended up deciding to turn around and make our way back. Thankfully we all made it back relatively unscathed.

The next day it was time to make our way back to Bangkok for our last night before Lynette and Maz headed back to Bris Vegas and I made may way to London.

Next stop, London!!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Koh SametKoh Samet
Koh Samet

One of the many beaches on the island!!
Koh SametKoh Samet
Koh Samet

One of the many beautiful beaches!!!
Koh SametKoh Samet
Koh Samet

We hired scooters and rode around the island.
Koh SametKoh Samet
Koh Samet

Catching a taxi - Thailand style


Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0337s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb