Bangkok to Chonburi (Chone-bur-ee)


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Chonburi
January 5th 2012
Published: January 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

 Anubanchonburi school Anubanchonburi school Anubanchonburi school

Lindsey's Students
Well im going to be quite honest. The night I arrived in thailand i was rethinking things because almost nobody seemed to know any good english and I was freaking out in my youth hostel not liking my first experience with the country. I was laying in bed from 2am to 7am from jet lag in my dorm and already feeling slight culture shock at everything that I didnt have access too(netlix, american TV, food, english). Which was expected but different once you actually have no access to it. So I checked out of my youth hostel and started walking around at 7:30am and things immediately changed. The street i stayed on is a huge backpacking community which i didnt realize was as big as it was, there are backpackers everywhere!!! Most of them speak english and some other language because they are mostly european, but i met several awesome people who did exactly what I did. I started walking around and just looking at everything and the tuk tuk drivers kept offering me rides and deals. I just explored for like 2 hours. A tuk tuk drove me around Bangkoks sight-seeing for only 85 cents(25 baht).

I then called
Chonburi MallChonburi MallChonburi Mall

Theatre Lobby
my friend Lindsey who lives here, on a payphone. Thankfully she answered and she said they were having movie night in chonburi if i wanted to join. So i took a tuk tuk to the SkyTrain which is lifted over the city and road it too a bus station and that cost me a dollar(35 baht). Then I took the Bus from Bangkok to Chonburi for 2 dollars(68 baht). Chonburi is about the distance from Terre Haute too Indy. From chonburi this really nice guy i met that hardly spoke english asked me where i was going and I said the name of Lindseys School. He was nice enough to walk me from the bus stop all the way there. I met up with Lindsey and she introduced me to her students and teachers at the school! I met Lindseys room mates and we hung out at her place until we went to The mall. Which contrasted the city so much. The city is kind of run down and seems like poverty is apparent. Then you step into the mall which is sooooo much nicer than our malls everthing is so nice and clean and high tech. We ate at
A&W A&W A&W

Some delicious root beer floats
an A&W and shopped then saw Sherlock Holmes in an enourmous Theatre. Something to note is that you can pick which seat you want to sit in and the movie only cost about 3 dollars(80 baht)

Then we went back to her place and I got some much needed sleep.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Sitting BuddaSitting Budda
Sitting Budda

No Shoes Allowed


Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb