Highs and lows...and that's not just the Thai karaoke!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Chonburi
May 26th 2007
Published: May 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

For some reason pictures weren't uploading so I'll put them all in with the next blog! You'll just have to make a mental picture of the karaoke!!

Tuesday 22 may
We’re gonna drink Bacardi like it’s my birthday….well Thai whisky anyway!
Today is my birthday. When I arrived at the camp they sang happy birthday to me. Then when we took Chan-Dee for a shower Long wandered off. I was feeling pretty good about that, happy that he felt confident enough with me to leave me to get on with it. Then he came back with a can of Pepsi for me as a birthday present, which I thought was very sweet. It’s not much but from someone who has no money it was a really nice gesture. I’ve also got some candles from Alison and Mark, along with my elephant pencil case and white board pens; Lek also gave me a hat like his as I’ve been borrowing his all week.. In-between riding and showering Chan-Dee I tried teaching Long some English. He seems really eager to learn, but we spoil it quite a lot by laughing all the time! In the evening we had a lovely mini-party attended by me, Arnon, Lek, Jhor and his girlfriend, Kop and Aline, the other volunteer. Each of the “staff” had prepared a different dish: so we had roast turkey from Lek (how he managed that with just a wok I’m not sure), mushroom stir fry from Kop, a beef dish from Arnon and a birthday cake with candles from Jhor. After the gorgeous meal we headed off to the local Thai karaoke bar where my songs of choice were Hung Up, My Humps, Doncha Wish Your Girlfriend Was Hot Like Me and Zombie. Basically the only 4 songs that I knew that were in English! When I got back Lam had left a beautifully wrapped present at my door. It was a dog money box. Now I don’t want to sound ungrateful here but….it would have been great if it had been an elephant cos I could have put it on the banana stand at the camp for donations!

Wednesday 23rd may
A strange and sad day today. I rode Chan-Dee as normal, then we went swimming at the lake again (Aline shocked the Thai people when she stripped down to a bikini for her swim - remember she’s 60!) Long and Taa another of the mahouts came along as well, but it was just me and Aline that swam (absolute bliss again). Longs wife turned up on a motorbike seemingly to summon him back to look after the baby which seems to be a Thai custom. When I asked Arnon on the way back why Long wasn’t taking tourists out (thinking that it might be me stopping him making money, as a volteer) he said that he probably wouldn’t take tourists for another month as he was expected to help look after the new baby. Later when I was sweeping up Long came over to me looking upset and told me that he had to go home. From the way he was pointing I quickly realised that he meant he had to go home to Chuya Phum, but I couldn’t work out how long he would be gone for. Later on Kop rode up on his motorbike with Long on the back with some bags. With Kops help I confirmed that he was hoing home to Chuya Phum and that he wouldn’t be coming back? We had a hug, and both got a bit upset as we had become close over the last couple of weeks or so and then they went. Still not sure if he would be coming back or not? Very sad and confused, especially when I found out the reason he had to leave. I hope he does come back. I will miss him as he was a fantastic mahout for me; he made it so much fun. But more importantly he has a newborn baby and three year old son here. We were supposed to be staying at the camp tonight but because of what happened today Arnon thinks it’s best that we don’t. there is a strange atmosphere so it is probably best. When we get back to the apartments Long is there, Arnon has told him to stay the night as a bit of breathing space I think. Apparently he’s offered him a job at the apartments for a few months, which hopefully will give him time to work things out with his wife.
Thursday 24th may
Didn’t see Long before we left - not surprising really as he was very drunk last night so is probably sleeping it off. Usual routine at the camp but it felt strange not having my mahout taking the p out of me. Went to the Chinese temple in the afternoon.

Friday 25th may
Again strange without Long. Arnon had told me that I would be changing to ride Low-Tong, who would definitely be easier to get on, she’s much smaller than Chan-Dee, but no-one else seems to know anything about it. I know it would be easier to ride Low-Tong and it would be good to have a mahout for guidance (and her mahout is so sweet and funny - and gay) I feel a bit of a responsibility for Chang-Dee (it's amazing how you become attached to them) as she has no-one to look after her at the moment. The good side of this for her, as she wont be taking tourists, is that she’s been moved to her own space under a tree. So she has more room to move around, and I have a little area to keep clean too, which gives me something to do in the quiet times, although I have been using the office here to create some promotional things for the camp. The other day I printed out a description of each elephant - we’re going to start an adopt an elephant scheme on the website (this blog may turn into a promotional/please help the elephants plea - be warned!) along with pictures of them and their mahouts (much hilarity here as when I was putting one sheet together I was told that it wasn’t Dok-Koons mahouts picture that I had but someone that works in the market!!!!) Whenever I go into the office and work on the computer I create much interest. On the first day I had a steady stream of visitors who stood behind me (pretending) to understand what I had written - just like I pretend to understand Thai sometimes! Stayed at the camp tonight. Different from last week. I didn’t go to the forest but stayed behind to help with the cooking, they let me do a little bit of chopping! Aline goes to bed early too and there is still a slightly subdued atmosphere, or maybe that’s just me imagining it, so I was in bed (hmm…if you can call it that?) but couldn’t sleep. Handily I had also brought along my ipod earplugs but not the ipod itself, so I couldn’t use that to help me sleep. Ended up having a pretty good nights sleep though, occasionally hearing the elephants that are in the “back garden” thrashing their pineapple leaves about! Then woken at 3am by the cock-a -doodle-do’s. Aren’t they supposed to let you know when it’s daylight? They’re about 2 ½ hours early!!

Saturday 26th may
Managed to get a little bit more sleep. Very strange dreams last night. I remember being in a supermarket in England with my mum telling her that I was stocking up because I was sleeping at the camp tonight. In Thailand! Feel a bit guilty about kicking (metaphorically of course) Kop out of his house (that’s where I’m sleeping at the camp), but he seems happy enough in his hammock complete with mosquito net! Chang- Dee has a new mahout, Pi Lit who has been Dok-Koons mahout, who will now also have a new one. He’s supposed to come and get me at 6am to go and get Chang-Dee from the forest. After sitting out on my veranda from 5.30 he still hasn’t turned up at 6.15. he actually didn’t come for me; neither did Alines mahout, thinking that we needed to sleep, so we go
of with another to collect Natalie/Saancome. Then breakfast where we’re treated to some fresh orange juice and a fried egg with rice. An interesting combination that I cant say will become one of my favourites. After breakfast I have an extra sleep for a couple of hours which feels amazing. After riding Chang- Dee and sweeping some more I’m granted my wish of a hammock, but I cant really enjoy it as I’ve slept this morning. Later realise that the hammock I’ve got is the one that the mahouts usually use. Get a very dirty look from Taa (with a smile at the same time) and later discover that he’s found where it’s moved to and is sleeping in it anyway! Spend the afternoon taking laundry, emails and sorting pictures. Change into my pj’s then realise that I don’t have any food. Cant be bothered to change again so have dry bread. Feel like I’m really not a tourist anymore! Get a phone call from mum too which is brilliant. What’s happening to me? I’ve been in bed by 9.30 for 2 nights in a row! Come back Alison and Mark!!!!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 82; dbt: 0.1109s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb