Ruins


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Ayutthaya
August 10th 2006
Published: August 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Despite the vast number of temples and Buddhas I've seen on this trip, I opted for a day in Ayuthaya to check out the temple ruins there. I got started early, rented a bike and seemed to beat the tourist rush and have some time on my own with these old temple sites.

I've been pretty lax in Thailand about catching public transport. I knew I wanted to get to Sukothai later in the day but didn't think it would be a problem to jump on the next bus. When I arrived at the bus station however, the lady refused to sell me a ticket and I had to wait several hours for the next bus. It was there that I met Sophie and Laetitia, two sisters from France who were also headed to Sukothai. We quickly learned the Ayuthaya bus station system of waiting for the bus to arrive and then this mad dash for the ticket office for the limited tickets that were left. Half the line would miss out on tickets altogether and had to wait for the next bus - and all because they wouldn't sell tickets in advance. We had plenty of false alarms and our bus was nearly an hour late. But we'd had so much 'rushing to get the ticket' practice that by the time our bus arrived, we were first in line. It was hardly anything to be excited about as the only tickets remaining were to stand in the isle for the 6 hour journey.

Such a funny day and had a great time getting to know Sophie and Laetitia. Hopefully will see you guys soon in Paris!



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Random little laneRandom little lane
Random little lane

I loved this place, it was so peaceful and I had it all to myself
Self TimerSelf Timer
Self Timer

I had to set up my camera rather precariously to get this shot and had a few funny stares from some of the Thai tourists.
The Bus to SukothaiThe Bus to Sukothai
The Bus to Sukothai

We got so tired of standing after several hours and so tried sitting in the isles. Here with Sophie and Laetitia


Tot: 0.211s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 21; qc: 107; dbt: 0.1226s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb