leaving Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Ayutthaya
February 16th 2005
Published: February 16th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well hello averyone!

Just wanted to give you all an update on where I am and what I am doing. Last email I sent to you all I was in Bangkok running around seeing all the buddhas.

The day after, on Sunday I met up with my friend Georgia, and her fellow travellers Anna- Kari and Jens, in Bangkok. We met quite early and spent the morning in Lumphini park, having a look at all the people doing tai- chi. After that we took the sky train to Chatuchak weekend market, which is a massive market in northern Bangkok...... well worth a look if you're in the area. After that we went to Siam Centre in central bangkok and then we met up with Jarno (the Swiss- Italian guy!) on Khao Sarn Road in the evening.
On Monday we went across the river to Wat Arun and Wat Kalaya, and then eventually ended up in Chinatown. It was plenty of walking, phew, hehe! As it was our last night in Bangkok, we went to the cinema in the evening.

I was heading off the next day to Ayutthaya, north of Bangkok, and Jarno was supposed to join me, but he had a death in the family, and so had to stay in Bangkok a little bit longer. Will meet up with him in 3 weeks time again!
So yesterday I took the bus to Ayutthaya, and I met 3 German guys; Moritz, Steffan and Thomas. We got along really well, and we checked in at the same guesthouse. They rented bikes for the day, to see the temples around town, but I decided to just walk around. I got to see pretty much all there is to see, as this town is quite small (12 000 inhabitants!), and it's easy to get around by foot! In the evening we went for dinner to celebrate Thomas birthday and after that we met up with a Swedish girl and an English guy and went to a night market.

Today we went on a boat ride around the city. The river surrounds the city centre, and there are temples all along the river bank, which you can see from a boat. One of the German guys is ill, and stayed in the guesthouse resting. We are all supposed to go to Lumpuri today, but if he is feeling unwell, then the rest of the guys might stay here another day. Ayutthaya is an okay city, but once you've seen all there is to see, you really want to get out! It's not a particularly nice city, but it beats the hustle and bustle of Khao Sarn Road, the ladyboys and the smog that Bangkok has to offer! Same, same....but different!!! 😉 (those of you who's been to Bangkok knows what I mean!)

My travel plans from now is to go to Lumpuri today, stay one night, then catch the night train over to Chiang- Mai. I will probably meet up with the Swedish girl, and spend my time in Chiang- Mai with her. I also met another English guy who is travelling the same route as me, so we might meet up closer to the Laos border to do the trip on the Mekong together.

I have been in Thailand less than a week now. Bangkok made me depressed, and although there were loads of people, and westerners around me, I have never felt more alone! Bangkok is not my kind of city, but I guess you grow to love it! As soon as you get out of Bangkok you start feeling more free, and in all honesty, you are never alone more than 5 minutes, and then you have found someone new to spend your time with! I was afraid to travel alone in the beginning, but now I realise it was the right thing to do! I don't want, or need to, compromise with anyone when I am alone! And, as I said....you always find someone to spend your time with! I am starting to love it, I feel as my adventures has begun now!!! 😉

Will keep you posted!!
x Eva







Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0781s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb