Ayuttaya


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Ayutthaya
June 28th 2009
Published: June 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After a few days on Phi Phi I felt I needed to do a bit more culture, although I could have quite easily stayed on Phi Phi for a lot longer. I took an overnight bus to Bangkok and then a train to Ayuttaya, a smallish town just north of Bangkok which has ancient Khymer ruins. Although severely damaged by fires when the Burmese invaded, they are still spectacular.

I originally planned to stay just the one night, but a few drinks turned into a bit of a drinking session and so along with some other hotel guests (and the hotel manager) we all ended up at a club dancing with ladyboys until the early hours of the morning. As such I need today to recover and so will be spending one more night here at least.

Tomorrow we have made plans to hire motorbikes so that we can see the ancient ruins that lie further outside of Ayuttaya.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb