Atuthaya, Bangkok, Chach, and Ko Samet.


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Ayutthaya
January 25th 2009
Published: January 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Quick update on the last few weeks.

Spent two nights in Bangkok. Arriving at about midnight, I didn't have time to look for a decent priced hotel, so I ended up overpaying by quite a bit. Of course. Spent two nights there, meeting with a couple friends (Sarah and Elliott) on the second. They teach english right outside of Bangkok in Chachoengsao.

I Spent the next four nights in Chach (as they call it) visiting some English classes, and taking in a smaller town than Bangkok, which was nice. Bangkok was interesting, but after a while, a city is just a city to me. There are honestly only 20 or so farrang in Chach at any given moment, so this was where I learned most of my functional Thai thus far. Loved the little city. Loved seeing my friends, but it was time to go.

The next five nights were spent on Ko Samet. I met some wonderful people, had a nice beach bungalow for 400 BT a night, ate some delicious sea food, had a nice mixture of long nights and relaxing days, but after five nights, it was time to take off at a full run 😊 Islands are a strange cocktail of relaxing and hectic, as far as I can tell.

After a couple nights in Chach on my way back, I went to Bangkok again to talk to the Embassy so I could figure out a visa problem I couldn't seem to answer online. Met a nice guy (Ethan) in the waiting room having the same problem, so we wrestled it together, WWE style, and figured it out. He had been moved to a double room, so I offered to split it with him seeing as I didn't have a place to stay yet. He took off to visit a Mosque (he's experimenting with Buddhism) but we may take a joint trip to Laos to battle the visa naga together.

I headed to Ayuthaya, and spent the night visiting ancient ruins, temples and a night market. Then I ate some chicken on a stick (my new favorite dinner), and met some French fellas at a streetside bar, who were extremely friendly, and insisted on calling me Obama, which I found ridiculous, but hilarious. Yesterday, I rented a bike and spent an hour or two biking around some old temples, and then getting some dinner, speaking shortly to a nice German dude. Sorry for the lack of pictures. I have them, but can't figure out how to load them. Maybe when I can jump on a slightly nicer computer. Ha.

Love, and miss you all back in the States.
-Carter

Advertisement



26th January 2009

We love reading your posts, can't wait to see the photos, and hear that the visa thing is settled. You know I am the worrier. Watch out for monkeys and take a cooking class for me.

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb