Ayutthaya - A Day Amongst the Ruins


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Ayutthaya
April 7th 2008
Published: April 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Day 32-April 6th: I was awakened today by a downpour of rain and the cracks of a thunderstorm. I was nice to hear rain, I love a good thunderstorm. Thankfully the rain had pretty much stopped by the time I headed out to catch the late morning train to Ayutthaya.

Thanks to the guidance of the hostel staff, I caught the city bus to the train station - it was very convenient and cheap! I arrived at the train station and found out there was a train leaving at 10:05 AM and it was about 10 AM! I quickly bought my ticket and hopped aboard with about 2 minutes to spare. I looked at my ticket and the crowded train car and saw that I was sold a standing room only ticket. Thankfully there was a little bit of space on a bench and I nestled myself in. I wouldn't be able to stand the whole way (about 1.5 hours) with my giant backpack weighing me down.

The ride was pleasant, the sun was trying to peek out, we stopped frequently at the stations between Bangkok and Ayutthaya. When we arrived in Ayutthaya, the first thing I did was buy a ticket on the night train to Chiang Mai. No beds are available so I'll be in a seat overnight. Oh well! Next, I gave the stationmaster my bag to store for the day and went for a walk around town.

I had to get across the river, so thanks to my guidebook, I knew that there was a ferry across from the train station side to the city side - only 2 baht! Much cheaper than tuk-tuks or taxis! I walked from the ferry landing to the middle of the city where most of the ruins are located. Ayutthaya was the capital of Bangkok until the 1800s when the Burmese invaded and destroyed most of the city. The city has kept the ruins intact as an archeological wonder and tourist site.

I walked around and admired the ruins all over the city:
- Bang Lan Road to Beung Phra Ram and the park
- Wat Mahathat - famous for a Buddha head lodged in a tree trunk
- Wat Ratchaburana - I just walked around the outside, didn't want to pay to go inside.
- Wat Phra Si Sanphet - the site of the ancient palace and the wat with three stupas, here the sun finally came out and it got really hot
- Wihaan Phra Mongkon Brophit - a new-ish building amidst all the ruins; houses a huge Buddha that was taken from the destroyed wats and restored to its bronze glory
- the street market outside of Wihaan, lots of food and knick-knacks.
- Wat Phraram - I just walked around the outside of this one too.
- in the area near Wat Phra Si Sanphet and Wihaan Phra Brophit there were people doing elephant rides, a tourist gimmick that I watched but didn't participate in.
- Wat Ket and the tourist center rounded out my sightseeing walk.

I walked back to Banglan Road and the night market, just getting set up. I then walked along the klang, the canal that surrounds the old city. I came to the main road and ChaoPhrom Market and Bus Station area. I decided to splurge! Dairy Queen while I walked around the market, then dinner at the Pizza Company (a pizza hut-type pizza restaurant chain that is all over SE Asia). Yummy in my tummy! I was serenaded whilst I ate and rested by some lovely "light rock classics" that took me back to my childhood. Good fun, I found myself singing along a couple of times!

Finally, I headed back to the train station for my 8:30 PM train. I took the ferry across for another 2 baht. What a deal! I waited for the train to pull in and hopped on. I made myself as comfortable as I could for the ride. We were due to arrive in Chiang Mai at about 6:30/7:00 AM. So I read for a while and then tried to get some sleep. A new city awaits me tomorrow!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb