Night Market


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taipei » Zhuwei
December 1st 2006
Published: December 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ai-yo….

Being tired has a new meaning after navigating thousands of people for a while.

Take the Shilin Night Market…
I love markets and I really love the mood of the night markets…a whole undercurrent of humanity that runs strong in the streets. One of the things I really wanted to show the kids and have them experience was a night market.

We took the MRT (mass rapid transit) a few stations down the line towards Taipei City to check out a huge night market there. The train proved a really effective and mostly un-scary means of getting around. I definitely want to try that again one day.

It’s too bad that some people can’t offer an ounce of kindness when you are loaded down with kids sometimes. W and I were discussing that very topic in not-so-nice terms when one of the travelers we were generally complaining about turned to us and offered w his seat…in perfect English. you forget sometimes that English is universal. Post embarrassment the guy turned out to be a pretty cool man. He teaches at a University here. I must remember to not take it for granted I am insulated
My little shopperMy little shopperMy little shopper

Marrin takes on the night market with no fear and comes away a happy girl with new shoes.
against a world of non-English speakers.

At the market my little travelers had their first taste of street food. Corndogs. Though I really wish it was a little more ethnic, and wasn’t located next to the stinky tofu stand, it was a great first time street food item. They ate it and Marrin's has posted a bit about it on her blog.

She has turned out to be a real cool person to hang out with on trips. Her shoe shopping and prowess at night market navigation are also quite useful! She bought her very own shoes with her very own money. All I had to do was take a picture!

Miles ran into a bit of a problem at the market where the space between people doesn’t afford much in the way of a personal space bubble. I think being short isn’t much fun either as all you can see if the person’s waist two inches in front of you. (I’m not kidding about the crowds here) But to his credit he didn’t complain until the couple behind him kept reaching out to touch his hair. He grabbed my arm to put over his shoulders to ward off their unwelcome advances….poor kid. He is adorable with the curls and they hide his unfortunate ear issue (stick straight out) but he is often mistaken for a girl and everyone has to comment or touch his curls.

After the short MRT ride back to the Zhuwei station the five of us, w, baby Nen, Marrin, Miles and I crowded onto w.’s scooter and headed home exhausted. Five on a scooter; and we are in Asia now!

Marrin’s blog is doing better than mine right now as I try to get hers posted for her classmates back home. Be sure to check it out if you can… she is a good little story teller.

On Saturday w. and I stole some time away from the kids as they had a sitter (two actually) for the day and w. and I headed to the Jade Market. Wow…..check out the pictures and they aren’t even a sample of the size of this thing….I really need a fisheye lens.

This place is massive and the Jade there is unreal. It’s amazing to see things that are so precious for one culture en mass and so attractive to another.
MRTMRTMRT

Miles loves the train!
I bought Marrin a Jade bracelet that is supposed to keep her safe and I have a necklace that I bought for myself…we’ll see if it gets gifted as I tend to do that. Lici….your treasure is found!

That and a great Shabu Shabu dinner (make your own at the table) dinner and I had a great pause form the kidlets for an afternoon. They had fun too (check out Marrin’s blog for details!)







Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Jenai Jade MarketJenai Jade Market
Jenai Jade Market

Lots of finds here....


Tot: 0.252s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1268s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb