91 days to go....


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taichung » Dajia
April 12th 2007
Published: April 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I wrote this about 2 weeks ago and forgot to publish, sorry for the delay!

So I have now been here for 8 months and I have exactly 3 months to go, or 91 days to be exact. I have read back over some of my earlier blogs and its so funny to read what I wrote back then. Some things have changed and some things have remained the same. I have definatly changed during this time. I have been somewhat isolated for the past 8 months with a computer as my main form of communication to know what is going on back home. But I am certainly going to be in for some culture shock when I return.
During the past 8 months, I have struggled and succeeded, its been a rollercoaster ride of emotions and experiences. I am so glad I did this, I have proven to myself I am capable of anything and there is nothing holding me back now, the world is mine for the taking.
I have seen so many places and things I have come to appreciate not only the States but Taiwan as well. Taiwan has become a part of me and it feels like home. Im suprised how when I travel to another country and am happy to be back in Taiwan and find myself missing things when I am away. When I came back from Thailand, I was happy to smell the air of my city and it felt so familiar. Granted not many of the smells are pleasent, but none the less they signify home. I have realized how many things I taked for granted in the States and here in Taiwan. I have become comfortable with Chinese, I understand for the most part what is going on and what is being said. I can also communicate effectively!!! That was one strange thing about visiting Korea. I had NO idea what people were saying and I was unable to communicate, I was actually very happy to hear Chinese and understand my suroundings. It will be stange to go home and order a meal using full sentences and not talking like a caveman...I want hamburger. Green tea, 2. and whatever else.

Here is a list of things that I have accepted and embraced as a part of me since living here:
~ using chopsticks for everything
~ carrying my own chopsticks, since the public use ones disgust me
~ never wearing shoes in my room, do you know where they have been, SICK SICK SICK
~ ocasionally wearing deoderant
~ enjoying the daily random parades
~ fresh fruit stands everywhere
~ 7-11 on every corner
~ Tea shops every 10 steps
~ 50 cent, 500cc green tea.....home will never have it so good
~ I am a crazy scooter driver, I can hang with the best of them, I can weave in and out of traffic and run red lights without blinking
~ Train travel...relaxing (most times) and convienient
~ NIGHT MARKETS
~ Every kind of food on a stick
~ Speaking Chinese, actually I can speak fluent Spanese, what I dont know in Chinese I use Spanish, quite a talent if I do say so myself
~ squatting....as a resting and bathroom position
~ hot pot
~ tea tea tea




Advertisement



26th April 2007

Familiar
It all sounds so familiar. I couldn't agree more. So strange that you can feel homesick to a place which is not your motherland. I am now going through a phase also, that I am missing Taiwan. And we have been there 6 months ago. The strangest thing is that I miss Taiwan more than my wife!!
27th April 2007

trilingual, between the two of us.
You can speak Spanese, I can speak Chrench, and presumably we can both speak English. At least I hope so, since that is how we make a living.

Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 69; dbt: 0.0832s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb