You must be kidding


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Hsinchu
March 20th 2006
Published: March 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Hsinchu

Tech Mfg capital of the world.

People actually travel here and manage to go to work the next day? As predicted I started melting around 6pm here. By 8pm, I was in a strange fog. Not sure if I was walking forward or standing still. Either way, a good nights sleep was all I longed for. But alas, there was work to be done! I crawled into bed around midnight and when my alarm went off at 5:30, let's just say it is a good thing no one was here to hear me.

The folks I've met were so kind and very very nice. Unfortunately, their English was only slightly better than my Chinese. Needless to say, work is going a bit slower than I anticipated.

Food has been...interesting. The Ambassador hotel is lovely. The rooms are perfect for me, very modern and simply. Lots of chrome and glass and light colored wood. Just my style. A very comfortable bed with nice pillows and free internet access-I'm in heaven. I didn't expect this at all so I am very pleasantly relieved. For breakfast, there is a buffet. It includes some attempts at American food including scrambled eggs and ham floating in a liquid that is bright yellow. I can only imagine it is somesort of mustard sauce? The traditional Taiwanese breakfast or at least the one they are known for is pork meatballs and rice sticks. Yesterday, I needed to stick with some eggs and lots of fruit but today I will give it a try. The fruit is out of this world. Hard to believe there are so many fruits I have never even heard of. We had fire dragon fruit which is a cross between maybe apple and kiwi. It is white with black specks and prior to being peeled it looks a bit like a man eating plant. Very cool.
The pineapple here is the best I have had ... in my life. Sweet as sugar and not very acidic. Really good. Prior to being peeled it is short and squat. Also had guava-nothing special (a bit like a starchy apple) and they had the usual melons and grapefruits. Lunch was brought in...sushi. I had there version of a california roll. It was quite good. Also had a teriyaki bowl. Very different than at home. The chicken had its skin and even some bones. It was floating in some gelatin stuff. Tasted good though. Dinner was a trip to Fridays. I think the team did this one for me 😊 Had some fajitas-not quite like home but it worked.

Off to work for me. I have attached some pics of the view from my room. This is Hsinchu-the technology manufacturing capital of the world.

Take care,
FC



Advertisement



22nd March 2006

unbelivebley packed city. lots of buildings, pretty cool. your food seems interesting but don't think i would like it too much, accept for the fruit. I could live on the fruit. hope you got more sleep........like the blog too....cool way to stay in touch...have fun, have to go to sleep myself

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb