my 4-day tour to the "cultural triangle" of Sri Lanka


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka
February 13th 2011
Published: February 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I'm writing your from the beach resort of Bentota, where we arrived this evening, following a 4-day tour of Sri Lanka's "cultural triangle." Although the state of some roads was pretty bad, we never saw the destruction I feared seeing on the east coast. The weather has turned fine again, which is great for us, but also for all the poor people who must return to their homes and rebuild them.
There have been some mishaps on the trip: we were an hour late taking off from Paris CDG because a Palestinian forced "deportee" was making havoc and had to be removed from the plane (I was, at first, sitting across from him and the two policemen guarding him); the "group" on my tour turns out to be just 3 of us--me and a young couple in their 40's; we arrived at 3:30 in the morning local time and, after traveling for 12 hours with a stopover in Bahrein, had to immediately start driving for 5 hours; the first two nights the couple (Dominique and Sophie) were in a luxury hotel and I in a not so nice one 45 minutes away on a bad road; I found our tour guide arrogant and "sexist"; much too much driving; no visit to Colombo; a small, rather isolated hotel in Bentota.
But there have been good things, as well: a very nice flight attendant moved me to business class on the trip from Paris to Barhein; our hotel in Kandy was beautiful; the driver (not the guide) was friendly and helpful; I did an excursion on my own to Polonnaruwa, which I loved, with a very nice taxi driver; the Cingalese people are, on the whole, friendly and smiling; I haven't seen that many mosquitoes, and it's not too hot; the Bentota beach is gorgeous and the water warm; Dominique and Sophie are very nice; I (we?) hope to take excursions to Colombo, Galle and maybe a national park.
So, all is fine. I didn't get to southern India (where I really wanted to go) this time round, but I'm enjoying the tropical climate and atmosphere of this island country. It's also interesting to be in a country that is mostly Buddhist, but with Hindu and Muslim minorities.
(Please note: there are 29 photos in all, so please click onto page 2 when you finish photo number 21)


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

hk at Polonnaruwahk at Polonnaruwa
hk at Polonnaruwa

the site is huge and reminded me a lot of Anghor Wat in Cambodia
PolonnaruwaPolonnaruwa
Polonnaruwa

just one of many sites
visit of a spice gardenvisit of a spice garden
visit of a spice garden

Sophie and Dominique with the man who showed us around--we even got sitting massages at the end!


13th February 2011

wow
Hilary, once again you are amazing! Thank you so much for sharing your journey with us, the good and the bad. My son always wanted to go to Sri Lanka and so it has always intrigued me. Hugs and hope to see you soon in Paris.
13th February 2011

Sri Lanka
Hi, Hilary: Glad the trip is working out after a shaky start. Thanks for these lovely photos and overview of Sri Lanka. It's given me a fine sense of the country. Enjoy, xx, Diane
13th February 2011

Enjoy your stay
I'm so pleased to see these familiar places! Much depends on your guide - we were so lucky (twice). But it's nice you are in such a small group. Just one car. Have fun!
13th February 2011

Thank you
Thank you once again for your travelogue...It's fun to be transported far away in the comfort of my home. I meant to ask you if you are planning on going back to Berkeley after your travels.... Will look forward to seeing you in the summer in Boston.
14th February 2011

Fabulous!
Looks incredible--keep sending pix! Shirley
14th February 2011

Thank you!
Thank you for writing about what you are seeing and the photos, too. Most interesting! Have a great time and we're looking forward to reading more.
14th February 2011

Cool Lanka pics!
Nice pics, also enjoyed reading about your Sri Lanka holiday. If looking to a learn a little about the place you visit or more things to do, please visit my independent Sri Lanka travel blog: discovering-serendipity.com. I would also love for you to share a picture memory in my "Serendipity this week" section, if you're interested!
14th February 2011

Pendant qu'on grelotte à Paris, il y en a qui qui prennent du bon temps sous le soleil d'orient ! Continue et prends du bon temps. Bises, Bernard
15th February 2011

Beautiful sites, and excellent pictures of them, Hilary!
15th February 2011

What a treat!
Thanks for "including" us on your adventure. Wonderful photos --- look forward to hearing more. Marjorie
15th February 2011

How great! You look beautiful and like a lady having a wonderful time in a beautiful country. See you when you get back. We are still meeting at Malongo. Miss your inputs and writing. Carol

Tot: 0.18s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb