English Competition


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka
July 14th 2009
Published: July 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

12 July

The driver to take me to Kalutara where the English competition was being held was an hour late which meant he drove like a maniac to get me there for the afternoons judging….a little scary at times, a few white knuckles could be seen! I was the only judge, let alone foreigner, and I had to judge school children of all ages on their pronunciation, clarity, presentation and choice of English prose, drama or poem. Some of the kids were very difficult to understand, most yelled into the microphone so you could not get the pronunciation or clarity anyway and some just froze and said nothing! It was all in the experience….then I was taken home by two other men who I had no idea who they were or how they were connected to the project, but at least they drove like relatively normal people! (Sri Lankan’s pretty much drive in any space they can find or create!) Definitely needed that Arrack when I got home.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb