Farewell to India, hello Sri Lanka and Helene!


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka » Western Province » Colombo
August 10th 2008
Published: September 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sri Lankan SunsetSri Lankan SunsetSri Lankan Sunset

One of many beautiful sunsets over the Emerald isle...
I can't believe how quick my time in India has gone! I feel a moment of sadness when the custom's guy stamps my passport. That's it I've left India and all my new friends behind me 😞

Then it's quickly replaced by excitement - I'm on plane back to beautiful Sri Lanka, somewhere I've already been lucky enough to visit once and this time I'm here to see Helen for her wedding.

No one else seems to be getting off the plane in Sri Lanka, they're all in transit on to London. I get to baggage reclaim and sure enough on the last baggage carousel my lonely backpack creaks slowly round and round.

I pick up my bag and head through customs half expecting to have that usual sinking feeling when I realise there is no one to meet me, but nope this time Helen is here to greet me smiling and waving AND with a car and a driver!

We head off to her place and then on to meet her friends Claire and Nicola at Mount Lavinia hotel http://www.mountlaviniahotel.com/
This place is luxury at it's best, I try not to wince at the price and dive right on in to the pool and luxury lifestyle. It's a bit of a culture shock but I love it. The poolside views along the beache and the coast are amazing. I could get used to this.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Tuk tuk!Tuk tuk!
Tuk tuk!

Helen and I bust out some tuk tuk craziness!


Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.072s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb