My Last Day at Vajira


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka » Western Province » Colombo
February 23rd 2007
Published: March 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Wow what an emotional day, well you all know what a wreck I am when it comes to saying goodbye. It almost felt like it did when I said goodbye to you all before I left the UK and I had to go through it all over again.

I have made some amazing friends here in Sri Lanka, I really do have a home from home and when I get HOME and start teaching I want my class to have a connection with Vajira. It's important for children to realise that not everyone is as lucky as they are and although there is a lot that the children want it is amazing to see boys playing marbles with rounded stones, I wonder how many boys in the UK know how to play marbles?

When I left it was very sad and Nilmini and a couple of the other teachers got a bit upset which was nice, although were they tears of sadness or joy at the fact I was leaving at long last hahahahahaha. I like to think they were of sadness!!!!!

They gave me some lovely gifts and I had bought them some gifts which was nice and all too soon it was time to leave.

The good things is I really feel as though I have made a difference, which might sound big headed but there it is. They were delighted with the work books I put together for them and Nilmini is going to show the Director of Education in Colombo because she is so pleased with them. And even my bossy attitude did loads of good and Mr Dasanayaka (the guy in charge of the project) said that because of what I had said there was now a new enthusiasm at the project and that it was now more organised, even the volunteers appear happier. So I have definately made my mark, I don't think they'll forget me in a hurry hahahahaha. They sung my praises so much that I thought my head would burst hahahahaha. I told them that when I need a job reference I'm contacting them that way I can'y fail hahahaha.

So here I am at the hotel, Mount Lavinia Hotel in Colombo, it's amazing and my room is huge. Having dinner with some of the other volunteers later which will be nice and then it's roll on Tuesday because that's when I fly to Abu Dhabi to see my friends.

xxx



Advertisement



Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.04s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0709s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb