Esther's DIY


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka » Western Province » Colombo
January 18th 2007
Published: January 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

But enough of this let me tell you about my little project.

Well I have started to paint this room in the little people’s house, it is only about 7 foot square but when I took it on I didn’t realise just how big a job it would be!!!!!!!!!!!!

I bought paint and brushes and 3 tubs of filler (the walls are in a terrible state) and I am going to get curtains and pillows for the children. I have also bought 3 beautiful appliquéd cushion covers which I am going to make into wall hangings to brighten the room. But enough of that let me update you with my progress so far.

Day 1: Tuesday 16th January 2007

First day on the job and what a state the room was in, the walls had great big chunks out of them and the paint was flaking off the walls. After assessing the situation I decided to filler as many of the dents as I could, the walls could do with re-plastering, I’m good but not that good so filler will have to do lol.

After filling what seemed like hundreds of holes I took to scrapping the flaky paint off the walls, well 5 hours later and a very dusty room I had had enough and so headed home tired and dirty much to the amusement of the locals who just looked and laughed as I walked by.

Day 2: Wednesday 17th January 2007

Well filler took well but still more paint to strip; it just peeled away from the walls when you touched it. After a couple of hours I decided to white wash all of the walls to cover up the bark paint that was used before but as it was drying more paint was flaking off. By 3pm I’d had enough and left leaving a white washed room to the hands of fate, would the paint all peel off or would my project be saved?

Day 3: Today

Lo and behold when I arrived at the house today I was amazed to find that the paint had stayed on the walls and that I had a reasonable base on which I could apply the top coat. As I said before the walls are in a terrible state but here isn’t anything I can do about that, I have tried sanding them but to no avail so the pant will have to do.

I painted 2 walls today in a pale green colour, very nice I thought, although it’s difficult to know what the people down there think. I have left the other 2 walls because I want to see how well the paint takes. I hope you can see the photos I have taken they give a better interpretation of what I am doing.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb