Sri Lanka holiday: Day 13-15, Blue whales, turtle hatchery and home :(


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka » Southern Province » Galle
May 31st 2017
Published: May 31st 2017
Edit Blog Post

My Sri Lankan holiday adventurewas coming to an end.. Sad face.



I paid an extra £25 for an excursion whale watching at the coastal town of Mirissa. This is meant to be one of the best places in the world to see Blue Whales which I was super excited about! Not only did I see a couple of Blue Whales, we also spotted plenty of dolphins and sperm whales. I think Unique Travel should incorporate this into the overall trip instead of making it optional. It was fairly cheap but added so much to the whole holiday being able to see such magnificent creatures up close!



I got to see more rare sea life up close when we visited the turtle hatchery which houses and raises baby turtles ready for release into the wild. I enjoyed this a lot more than the elephant orphanage we visited and it was a great trip to make.



Our final outing was to Galle with its famous Dutch fort. The guided walk around the fort educated us on its history of European occupation which can be seen in the various architecture styles found in the town. The area around the fort is enjoyable for a casual walk with character streets and various small shops you can pop in to buy a souvenir or two.



Day 15 was the day I said goodbye to the fabulous people I met on my trip and is without doubt not the last time I will be visiting Sri Lanka!





Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb