Finding Kate-Friendly Food


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Yongin
January 7th 2012
Published: January 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Octopus, Anyone?Octopus, Anyone?Octopus, Anyone?

Today's salad at lunch had octopus tentacles. I put one in my bowl, but couldn't get over the visual. I'm hoping to try octopus at some point while I'm in Korea.
This is perhaps the biggest challenge since I arrived in Korea nearly two weeks ago. I find that the meals in the cafeteria are very hit and miss. My cafeteria serves a lot of meat, whereas Griff's cafeteria serves mostly vegetarian food (for those who don't know me as well, I do not eat red meat, and don't eat that much fish or fowl). I have more or less eaten vegetarian in Korea. The exceptions I can think of are the chicken wings I had at Traveler's Bar and some battered and fried chicken and shrimp I had for lunch one day this week.

It is a guarantee that there will be rice and kimchi at every meal. The type of rice varies, but there will be rice. I was shocked when I realized that I had not eaten any rice yesterday until dinner (good, Kate-friendly meals for breakfast and lunch).

Breakfast tends to be a staple for me. I'll often take advantage of some western cuisine, even if I still have rice on the side. I think I'm going to be sick of rice by the time I'm back in Richmond Hill.

We randomly had a western-style
Yummy BreakfastYummy BreakfastYummy Breakfast

My breakfast this morning -- bagel, jam, apple slices, cereal. Later on they had jelly roll slices!
lunch yesterday - pizza, french fries, pasta, Coke, etc. We had a meal right after I arrived when I was given western cutlery, but yesterday I ate my fries with chopsticks.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Yummy...Breakfast?Yummy...Breakfast?
Yummy...Breakfast?

My friend Ryan's breakfast this morning -- he went for a more local cuisine (minus the cheese fries).


8th January 2012

Mmmmm Yummy
You must try and supplement your protien in one form or another, I would imagine vitamins are pricey not to mention whether or not how accurate the label is??? As for Octopus it just tastes like your eating rubber as far as consistancy goes but lacking in flavour, try and get a live one to eat they are the most fun,lol Some how I don't see that happening little one but give it a shot anyway its good for a laugh. Take care BG and talk to you soon. Luv, Daddio
9th January 2012

Mmmm...tentacles!
I meant to bring vitamins, but they're on the kitchen counter. Well done, I know. I've eaten meat during my times off and have still eaten tofu to get my protein. I also have the peanut butter that Santa left in my stocking. I bought some crackers, and they've gone quite well with the PB. As for the octopus, my goal is to suck it up enough to try a live one while I'm here, just for the experience. Gotta try and take in the culture, right? Love you too, Dad!

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb