Weekend in Seoul


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Yongin
January 8th 2007
Published: January 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, I got out of the 'prison camp' and into Seoul for part of the weekend...what a relief!

We finished teaching at 6pm on Saturday and the bus left the campus for Seoul at 6.30pm. After arriving in Seoul we went straight to our accomodation which was a hostel. There, we managed to find some of the only other Australians in South Korea! We then went out to Dondaemun, which is a massive market area. This area has lots of 5-10 storey shopping markets that are open until 5am! :o) Yay for late night shopping! I didn't buy much, except some 'genuine' adidas sneakers...for $40 :o) No way to tell that they aren't real tho...

The next day we headed off to a Buddhist temple for some sightseeing, and then to Namdaemun, which is another massive market. This is where I managed to do some damage to the contents of my wallet. I got myself a fake Louis Vuitton suitcase (although is it an obvious fake) and a really good imitation Louis Vuitton bag and Chanel wallet. Most of the fake items on display are obviously fake. I was talking (well trying to) to a stall owner. He asked if I thought it was a good copy. I said it was ok, but obviously fake. He said "it B grade, you want A grade?" I then replied that I would and he took me out the back of his little shop (don't worry, I had other teachers with me) and showed me his good fakes...very good imitations! So that was when I got the bag and the wallet.

We also had dinner at a Texas bar where there was a New Zealand menu for alcohol, which included KGB's! And I haven't drunk those for almost 10 years! I don't think nachos have ever tasted so good or alcohol gone down so well! We only had time for dinner and 3 drinks before the bus came to take us to the prison camp again but they were lovely!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0932s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb