There ARE smarter kids here!


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Taejon
August 4th 2006
Published: August 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, another day of teaching done. Today went better than the last couple of days, maybe because I started with REALLY easy stuff. I started off with colours and shapes, and had them copy those words for their next spelling test. We did a little work in the workbook, which focused on fast food, so they were interested and knew some of the language involved. THen I pulled out the everyday items Bingo game, and they had a blast! It had pictures and the words, and we progressed from showing them the pictures while saying the words, to just saying the words. A little repetition never hurt anyone! We played about 6 games this morning I think. I also gave them their speech (6 short sentences to copy and learn) and we learned our class cheer. It involved clapping patterns, and the words "Class 6, go, go, go!" I applied the KISS strategy (Keep It Simple, Stupid!)

In the afternoon, we do a rotation for Western class (which is my money unit). I got a class of students who actually UNDERSTOOD me! HALLELLUJAH! It was wonderful! They were interested in the money, worked quickly and got the concepts. What a lovely group of kids! I took them to hockey for PE, and then back to Western class where they actually understood a little of the Canadian music I played them. (I opted for BNL's "If I Had a Million Dollars" to relate to the money).

They saw that I had some cool Canada stickers, so I offered them a sticker if they finished up the chart we didn't get to. They started to work on it at their break time! COOL! What a nice change!

Tomorrow we have English Olympics in the morning (I'm running Charades with another teacher), and in the afternoon the CCs are running other activities. They're actually here in the lab trying to find pop music to use in their Pop Music class tomorrow!

Okay, it's after midnight. Off to bed!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.183s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.14s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb