Found the Dollar Store!


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Taejon
July 30th 2006
Published: July 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So after a morning of repetitive orientation, and finally getting the schedules and information on paper, we were able to check out our classrooms, see the selection of materials and what books we would be using. None of them were terribly impressive. The classroom I'm getting is quite small; I'm not sure how we'll fit 10 students and myself in there. The materials were skimpy (one package of markers, 2 pairs of scissors, 2 glue sticks, a few other things for 10 kids) and the book we're supposed to use as our base for teaching is only so-so. The story they have included about going to the hospital is priceless. I'll have to make a copy of it to bring home, it's that sad!

The group of 6 of us (Shannon, Erika, Marianne, Mike, Theresa, and myself) decided to forgo the kimchi special and eat downtown since we were headed there anyway. Pizza again! :D Definitely worth the trip into town! We also decided to hit the underground mall again because we had heard that there were "1000 won" stores, the Korean equivalent to dollar stores. I was on the lookout for a cheap set of speakers for my MP3 player so I can play Canadian music for the students when I teach Western class. Some of the others wanted more supplies like pencil crayons, construction paper, stuff like that. After a couple of failed attempts at finding the store (you have to imagine 400 tiny little shops side by side crammed into a hallway and there are 3 hallways) we found the "Happy 1000 won Store". No speakers there, but I got a pair of sunglasses, since my Canadian dollar store pair had already come apart. Strange thing is, when I went to pay for them, the woman refused my money, sending me back to rack with them. I didn't understand what she was trying to tell me, but in the end, she took my money and sent me on my way. Perhaps it was a 2-for-1 special? I didn't think of that until after I walked away. Oh well.

We walked down another corridor to look for speakers, and finally I found a pair. 7000 won but reasonably decent quality. I still had a little money left in the budget they had allotted us, so I bought them. I may have gone over by $5 or so, but if the Canada pens and stickers I bought the kids make them happy, then it's money well-spent.

After bus-surfing home (you'd have to see the buses and the way the drivers rock those things to understand how very tiring and trying it can be to stand in a Korean bus), we made it back to our rooms, where we were told they had been cleaned. If that's a clean toilet, then I'd hate to see a filthy one! Actually, the day we arrived, the bathroom was unpleasantly dirty. We had asked 4 times since to have it cleaned, only to be told, yes, it will be done. Still have yet to see that happen! It seems that there are quite a few Korean eccentricities....

1. Yes means yes and it means no. The Koreans are too polite to tell you something cannot be done.
2. They serve kimchi at EVERY meal, breakfast, lunch and dinner.
3. Bus drivers seem to speed up for construction, tunnels, and they don't actually stop the bus at the bus stop.
4. People seem to squat, not sit. They must have EXCELLENT thigh muscles!
5. Toilet paper does NOT go into the toilet. It goes into the little garbage pail beside the toilet.
6. Toilet paper is distributed OUTSIDE of the toilet cubicles. Be sure to get some ahead of time!
7. Soap is ALWAYS bar soap. Even in public washrooms.
8. There are NO garbage cans along the streets. People leave garbage anywhere they like.
9. People will speak to you in Korean, and still continue in Korean, even when it's clear you have NO clue as to what they are saying.
10. Dessert is never served at a meal, although there are pastry, cake and ice cream shops aplenty!

I'm sure I'll come up with another Top Ten list in the coming days.....

Advertisement



3rd August 2006

I love it! Korean Wonarama!
Your top ten list is great...sounds like my Cuba trip....I did warn you! At least you had soap!!!! LOL! Keep them coming!!!

Tot: 0.261s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.2177s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb