Standard Operating Procedure


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Taejon
September 3rd 2008
Published: September 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday, Peter took four of the new foreign teachers to the Immigration Office on the other side of the city. As usually, we had a meeting time and place where Peter came with the school's van to pick us up, transport us to our destination and then get us situated with the employees to do what we needed while he waited in the lobby. I really feel guilty for all of the things Peter has to do for all of us - he's like an adult babysitter.

I was expecting to be at the Immigration Office for a good portion of the afternoon (we arrived around 11 AM), but to my pleasant surprise, Peter had already completed most of the paperwork for all of us (he really has this smuggling foreign teachers into the country process down cold) and once we were called to meet with an immigration officer, it took a total of 3 minutes per person to get everything completed. We won't receive our alien registration cards (and get our passports back) for another ten days, however.

Just as the last of us was finished with the officer, Peter turned to me, "Trista Teacher, pleasea, would you follow me." As the others trickled in single file behind, Peter told them to wait in the lobby, I was the only one needed. As he led me upstairs, I was slightly concerned that I was about to be deported. But Peter said the head officer just wanted to meet with me. When we got to his office, he ushered us to his desk. He smiled at me and started speaking in Korean, until my reaction and Peter jumping in to explain, let him know that I was "just American." "Aaahh," he said. Then he just "California!" and started talking to Peter. Two minutes later, Peter said we could go.

All the immigration officer wanted was to tell me that I could switch from an E-2 Visa to an F-4 Visa if I have all of my birth papers. This was nice sort of a welcome revelation, but also very confusing, as I tried to apply for the F-4 Visa before leaving the states and was told that I was not eligible. You can receive an F-4 Visa if you were born in Korea or have family ties to the country. Since I was born there, but adopted with no record of my biological parents, the woman at the Korean Consulate in LA told me to just get an E-2 Visa (a one-year permit to work in the country if you are sponsored by an employer - much more paperwork and processing involved). Now that I have already gone through all of the hardships associated with getting an E-2 Visa (last week we were all shuttled to a hospital to get a medical check-up that included, blood tests, urine tests, eye tests, weight and blood pressure, and even a quick dental check), there is not much reason to try to switch, other than the ease of traveling in and out of the country with the F-4 and that it lasts for 2 yrs and is easily renewable. I may return to the Consulate next week to discuss my options, but I have a feeling that once they see my birth records, they may also tell me I am not eligible to switch.

With the most time consuming parts of the process of moving to Korea now out of the way, the only thing left is receiving my alien registration card and then getting my bank account set-up so I can get paid!

*It's interesting to note that even as recently as a year and a half ago, foreign teachers coming to Korea as I have, did not have to go through all of the paperwork or get any medical exams as soon as they arrived. These new procedures were largely instigated by a media special that told the story how easy it was for lots of westerners/English language natives to come to Korea and make a fortune by teaching English to children and adults (private tutoring, hakwons etc). Basically framing the story of how exploited the country and people were. This is also why the rules of my E-2 Visa status were stressed numerous times before my departure from the States. I am not allowed to work for any other institutions but the one sponsoring my Visa, and under no circumstances can I do private tutoring (getting paid in cash by the families - usually 30-50 dollars/hour). Either could lead to deportation.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0877s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb