Taking it all in


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Taejon
September 3rd 2008
Published: September 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Traffic intersections. Here, even on the major streets, the traffic lights are on a four-way stop system. So at a four-way intersection, only one side of traffic gets to go at a time. As a walking pedestrian, this is very annoying, because it takes quite a while until you are allowed to cross the intersection.

Cars. Unlike in the U.S., where it is socially unacceptable to be seen driving any American made vehicles, almost all personal Korean transportation is manufactured in the country. Everywhere you go, you may come close to getting run over by either a Hyundai or a Kia.

Facebook may just be worth its 4+ billion dollar value...all of the Korean teachers that I am becoming friends with immediately ask me if I use facebook and add me as a friend. The Canadians are all on it as well.

Koreans know how to make bread. And cake. Two of the bakeries that I particularly like are Tous Les Jours and Rotiboy. The bread is seriously delicious. Of course, the sweets are more than the average cost of food here (which is low), but well worth the price. Just be weary of buying something on looks (like I have been doing since I got here). I bought what I thought was a blueberry scone the other day, only to bite into it and discover that the blueberries were olives, and on the inside of the bread was a large amount of sweet pizza paste. It was not a pretty sight.

I've also stumbled upon a menu item that I can order myself and that I enjoy. It's pronounced, mandu, and it is an order of steamed dumplings with meat and vegetables inside. You can also get kimchi inside of them, but I still have not been able to let this spicy cabbage into my life just yet...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.036s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb