Food: Trial and Error


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Taejon
August 29th 2008
Published: August 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So, since I have been here, I am 100% sure that I have not been eating a balanced diet. I am consciously trying to fully embrace this new lifestlye and eat primarily Korean food. However, even this is difficult, when I still do not know how to order food or what the food is. I am glad that I brought a year's supply of One-A-Day vitamins from Costco.

It's somewhat easier to buy food at convenience marts and grocery stores (which are really just multi-story department stores, where you buy your food, clothes, household items, jewelry and anything else you can think of - Think Wal-mart or Meijer, but 5 times the size), because they have pictures on the labels. However, as I have quickly come to realize, not even pictures can save you. In my quest to figure out what kind of snacks I like and can take with me to school, I have been purchasing new things every day and bringing them into the teachers lounge with me. Martin, one of the Korean-American teachers on my team, gets a kick out of this. He tells me that it is great I am trying new things...and then he tells me what I am actually putting into my mouth.

The first item I tried, looked like they were simply wheat crackers. You can't go wrong with that. After eating one, I realized they were a form of a wheat cracker, but with about two tablespoons of sugar and another weird seasoning on each cracker. The next snack was a package of round, doughy cake-like food with what I thought was fruit on the inside. I bought these more for how cute they were (I could see them through the clear packaging) more than anything else. Cute, but not good. The insides were filled with pure sugar, like molasses. Snack number three was bought at the convenience store on the first floor of my work building. This came in foil package with a picture of the food on it that resembled combos, only with nuts inside. I thought this had to be a good one. I get back to the teahers lounge and eat a few. They aren't bad, but they certainly aren't combos. They had a crunchy outside with some kind of seasoning built into it and then a peanut inside. I figured the outside was just cooked rice (they can make almost anything with rice over here). After a couple more, I decided that this was also a no-go. I offered some to the other teachers, and only Dennis, the older white gentleman from Alabama took any. So again, Martin came in and was happy to see that I had bought another new item to taste. He asked me if I knew what they were, I replied that I did not. He giggled a little before telling me that the outside was made from squid.

As for restaurant outings, here is what I know for certain. I do not like kimchi, try as I may I simply cannot stomach this spciy cabbage (a big strike 2 against me, following my inability to speak the language). I like the ja-ja myun - a thick noodle dish (handmade) with black sauce on it (kind of like salisbury steak sauce), but only in moderation. I definitely like Korean BBQ, but everyone does and out here, the amount of meat that you get is very minimal compared to the states. And, it's quality is sometimes questionable. An interesting observation about the restaurants is that many people will eat a meal without having any accompanying drinks. All restaurants provide water or have a water jug and tin cups sitting out for people to get their own water, however. But, for how spicy their food is, I can't believe that they are not drinking something to wash it down by the gallon. Most often, drinks aren't even listed on the menu. I have also had some Korean bread (which is more like a dessert, the way that they make bread at Zingerman's in Ann Arbor, mmm...) and a Korean cake that one of the parents made for the teachers. Both of these were delicious. My favorite restaurant so far is a place that I just went to for lunch today with Ryan, a Korean-American from Los Angeles. It's a Chinese restaurant.

hey, it's of Korean influence, so that should count for something...

Sometimes, on my way to work I will stop on the sidewalk and purchase fruit from one of the old ladies that sits there all day under a large umbrella, selling fresh fruits and vegetables in bowls. This is breakfast. However, I always just buy one or two pieces (like an apple). Apparently you are supposed to buy a whole bowl full. Yesterday when I grabbed an apple and handed her 1000 won, she looked at me and she and starting talking to her sales partner in Korean, but again I was able to interpret the meaning of look at this girl, she wants to take one apple! They had a good laugh and she took my money, of course.

As for what is stocked in my apartment: a bag of frozen chicken nuggets, which are actually better than a lot of such bags I have bought in the states, the only question is whether or not it is really chicken. A box of saltine crackers - with no sugar. I'm telling you, sugar goes on everything. A bunch of Ramen Noodles. And two jugs of bottled water.

Advertisement



2nd September 2008

Basic foods you might like
Here are some foods that you might like when you go to a restaurant. Although in Korea, most of the restaurants seem to be specialty places serving only one type of meal. If you liked the noodles you might want to try: (I'm spelling these phonetically, i'm sure the waiter will know what you're asking for if they have it) Mool-Neng-Meyun - it's buckwheat noodles in a cold beef broth Chop-chea - clear cellophane noodles with a mix of vegetables in a light soysauce and sesame seed oil BBQ Gahl-bi - rib meat, usually beef but sometimes i've had pork served to me Bool-go-gi - thin sliced ribeye Rice dishes bi-bim-bap - there are all kinds of variations on this but this one is the basic. If you find on a menu xxx-bi-bim-bap it will consist of rice topped with sliced vegetables and maybe 1 type of meat but only as a flavoring. They will give you a red chili paste on the side to stir into the dish. Add a tiny bit and taste if you dont' like spice. I'd add a little though for the flavor. Kim-bop - korean style sushi roll but it's all cooked ingredients. This is nice for lunch There are a lot of things that might interest you. I'd suggest going out to eat with your co-workers and explore new tastes. Oh here, i found a restaurant site that explains what food is - I hope it wont be stripped by the commenting program: http://www.koreanrestaurantguide.com/meet_dishes/dish_0.htm
3rd September 2008

Can't go wrong with dumplings and rice
Hey, Thanks for the comments to my blog! I really appreciate the info and that you took the time to write. Luckily, I have figured out a handful of korean foods that I enjoy, so at least I know I will survive through the winter...:) So, have you lived in Korea since you were little? Or do you just visit occasionally? Been to Taejon? Would love to hear more of your encounters, as a Korean American. If you have a blog, let me know. I just had to make mine private, due to the things I write about etc., so if you want me to add you to the list, let me know as well! Best, TVT

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb