Day 3


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Taejon
August 1st 2007
Published: August 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

So things went a little better today. The students spoke a little more today, and less Korean because I threatened to give out yellow stickers. Seemed to work! We also switched classes for two periods, so I had another class to work with, and they were a lot less shy.

We also worked on our entry for the Talent Show which is being put on Saturday afternoon. I decided that we could do a little mini-play about the arrival of the kids at camp. We ran through it this afternoon, and everyone got a part to play. Bill, my most talkative one, has the lead role, and I think he'll do okay if he just slows down when he speaks. He's trying to rush through and is having difficulty pronouncing all the words. I think we have tomorrow to practise, and that's it. Yikes!

Dinner sucked tonight, so when we walked into town, I got myself some pizza. Yum! Not Mr. Pizza, but a good substitute. I ate it outside of the convenience store where I ran into two fellow teachers, who were drinking their beer at the table outside the store. Apparently the beer is cheaper at that place than 7-11, so that might be the new hangout.

Oh yeah, and at our meeting this morning, we were told that we would be visiting Happy City on Friday. If you read last year's entry about the trip to the ocean floor and remember about the side trip to the empty area where the new city was to be built, you'll remember it was called Happy City. I guess now we're going to see the progress that has been made over the last year. Hopefully we won't all sit in the middle of the road again and see nothing while suits stand around and yammer in Korean to the kids about some new project.

In addition, we were told today that we were no longer allowed to let the kids run around, even during P.E., because yesterday two kids fell down and got a little scraped up. They took the kids to the "hospital" (which probably means walk-in clinic or equivalent) because they were so worried. Seems a little ridiculous to me. So no more running. No running in soccer, no running in hockey, no running in anything! We weren't happy, and the kids were REALLY unimpressed. Now they think that Canadian soccer sucks because they can't run. What they don't seem to understand is that it is management freaking out and laying down the law because of two minor accidents. Whatever!

Anyway, that's it for today. Sorry if the order of things seems a little discombobulated.... I'm feeling that way myself today! Might have to do with a little homesickness. 😞


Advertisement



1st August 2007

no running?!?!?!
what's next....no walking? no swimming? i agree that does seem a bit ridiculous in a camp environment!! i certainly remember your trip to "happy city" last year...wonder what it looks like now? personally, i just love the name! good luck with the play on saturday...i'm sure it will be entertaining!
1st August 2007

Homesick?
Homesick? I thought you would be thinking "I'm _so_ glad to get away from that place!".
2nd August 2007

Missing you guys
Yeah, I know it seems strange to be a bit homesick, but when your friends are halfway around the world, and you're feeling a little left out of things, you do start to miss your friends and family and all the creature comforts that we don't have here.
2nd August 2007

Will they ban food too?
If one of the kids bites their tongue will management ban food too? Will everyone need to drink diet shakes? I wonder about those pesky paper cuts I sometimes get...

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0556s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb