Seoul - a city where traditional aspect blend into modern aspect


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
November 23rd 2016
Published: November 29th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Hi all,

I just returned from Seoul, South Korea. The country that I always dreaming of. Fyi, I am neither a K-pop fans nor a K-drama fans. Well, the reason why I really want to visit the country is just because from what I read, and what I heard is that it offers beautiful scenery, very friendly local people, and delicious food. Is that all true? Let me prove it to you guys!

Well, I started my journey from 23 Nov'16 until 27 Nov'16 (4 days, 5 nights). The first time feeling when my feet touching down the city, I was so nervous because I am worried of getting lost, and stereotype of the fact that Korean are no really friendly to Asian foreigners. But as soon as I arrived in the city, those things I have in mind are wrong!

1. LIFE

Seoul itself is a very large city. So you need jotdown places, and kind of dishes that you really want to see and try. The people is so eager to help anyone and they don't mind to spend times with you. I got lost so many times and had problem in taking cash through ATM. The students that I asked, are so eager to help me and even they showed me the way to the Korea Bank, and not only that, they also assist me until I am done with my business. One thing that I realized was, they were smile and really really show their friendly faces. They really do not care about where are you from. Some blogs, sites, and story I have heard is very much different what I have been experience.

The people are also look stylish and up to date which inspired me to dressed accoardingly. I fall in love with the city life of Seoul. For me it is something that I can not explain here to you and you should prove it yourself.

2. RESPECT.

Always take a bow. Whenever you meet older or meeting people first time make sure you bow. In their culture, it shows respect. For me this one is interesting because in the world of modern where high technology and high speed of thinking people tend to leave their culture. Korean are so got into a deep in culture. They still keep their heritage, their habit, and their pride at the same time.

I also become witnessed so many times of a quality time from families in the city. From here, I can draw the line that, here in Seoul no matter how old you are or how young you are family relationship is really bound each other. I never saw brother feeding his little brother or cudle each other on street. I think this is what I call as "bromance" and "famance". This view is rare in the modern era right? But Korea has it and still preserved this culture which is good to adopt.

I am Asian. But I feel like I am reborn when I become the witness life in Korea. I am not newbee in cultural shock, I mean I have been living in 2 countries, but the Korean culture are so touching and really warm-hearted to me. I still remembered my first day in Korea, I took so many walked. And drop so many questions to people passing me by. Surprisingly, they were all really do not mind with my problems. They really showed their patience to help people. Which is cool to me!

3. FOOD.

I am so impressed with the Korean dish. Spicy, sour, serving hot, and fresh. All dishes are so amazing. I mean, the food really met my expectation and even beyond. What I see it delicious then I tried it the same feeling too. For me the dish is so impressive yet too beautiful to eat. They offered reasonable price, and I do not really mind if they set higher price, because whatever I ate, the taste was sooo good. Very remarkable! I ate kimchi, bimbimbap, pig chan restaurant all you can eat, street food in hongdae, ehwa uni street, myeongdong, dongdaemun etc. The lobster as a snack?! Only in Myeongdong you can find it!

4. FREE TOUR

Seoul have so many things to offered. You do not need to always spending wons. The city has so many things for free. Days before I go to Korea, I search some kind of free guide tour in Seoul. Voila! they have so many free tour available for foreigners. I booked a day tour with Hi!SeoulYouth with customized agenda. I decided the place, and I decided the time too. Nonetheless I cancelled the tour because there was strike occured in the city, I am happy for the fact that the guide and admin are so accessible and easy to communicate with. Surprisingly, most of volunteers are high school students. Amazing right?!



* Photos will be posted later, because I need to choose the best describe my feeling in Seoul. Hehe, ;-)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb