Differences


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
October 11th 2015
Published: October 11th 2015
Edit Blog Post

There are so many things that are different here that I can't even begin to explain, but I'll try to mentions some that I notice a lot.




• People don't say anything when you sneeze. "Bless you" is not a thing here...
• Sometimes it takes up to 5 minutes for a light to turn green. Seriously, if you want to cross a street and the light is still green, you better run for it.
• The traffic rules here confuse me. Illegal U-turns don't look very illegal here, since everyone just turns when they feel like it.
• Motorcycles apparently count as pedestrians if they want to: they drive on the sidewalk and use the pedestrian crossings regularly.
• I have had a bunch of people asking me if my hair color is natural and if I got a perm.
• The kids like rubbing my arms because I have arm hair... Yeah, that's not a thing here either.
• In many places, you don't flush toilet paper, you throw it into a trash can.
• It is fairly difficult to find a hand dryer or paper in a public bathroom. I always end up leaving whilst shaking my hands like a crazy person.
• There are seats in the subway designated to elderly people. A while ago i saw some tourists sitting down and I cringed because that's a huge no-no here.
• If people think you're in the way, they just push you (sometimes gently, sometimes... not so much).


That's all i could come up with for now, although there is so much more!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb