Konglish


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
June 24th 2012
Published: June 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The pizzaThe pizzaThe pizza

Not only do they know pizza, they know THE pizza! :)
One of my favourite "Korea-isms" thus far is the abundance of spelling mistakes that I see on a daily basis, wherever I go. You know that rewarding feeling that comes over you when you notice a spelling mistake in a book? You get this triumphant, almost cocky feeling that you're smarter than the publisher! You might even insist on telling whoever will listen that you found the mistake so they can thus be impressed by your cunning eye.

Well, it has come to the point here that I don't even feel impressed with myself anymore- the amusement has worn off!

South Korea is fervently welcoming English into its country with wide open arms. This is evident in the high demand for English teachers in recent years. As well, everywhere you go, especially in the main cities like Seoul, English signs can be seen dotting the streets. It is a slow, but steady process, and one which I am here to make a small difference in.

Nonetheless, there are some translators that should be fired immediately. The amount of simple mistakes is dizzying. Don't get me wrong, I commend them for trying to introduce and blend English into their
Buddhist Festival SignBuddhist Festival SignBuddhist Festival Sign

I tried to understand this sentence, but I just gave up after my fifth read...
society. In fact, most of the time I just find the mistakes hilarious.

For instance, in my school, there are small mistakes here and there. In each classroom there is a sign that simply states: "Be Quite." Be Quite what? Be quite noisy? No wonder my kids are always talking. They don't know any better!

As for Korean restaurants, don't get me started. Its all guesswork when I read a menu. For instance: "Rice with assorted mixtures" will be a typical description of my meal. I've apparently eaten a lot of "jilly fash" while here in Korea as well. As for dessert, my favourite is the "Crunky Choco Bars." I don't know if they're suggesting they're crunchy, or they help one with their dance skillz; they're delicious either way!

I've really enjoyed these "Korea-isms" so far, and my mom has as well (I send her daily quotes!) Sometimes a picture says a thousand words, even if those words are mispelled; so I'll let the attached pictures speak for themselves! 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Cute little CrushCute little Crush
Cute little Crush

I have a cute little crush on this book!
National Pride?National Pride?
National Pride?

Wow, what an inspirational quote!
Dog CafeDog Cafe
Dog Cafe

Can you count the number of mistakes?


26th June 2012

It's bad here too!
It's not only in Korea Yenny! Last night Laura, Theo, Rory and I saw a sign in Toronto advertising some children's camp or day program, and one of the skills it lists your child will learn there is "Leader Ship". So strange that we saw that the same day that you posted this blog!
9th July 2012

What a hoot!
Your blog entry would make a fantastic article in a travel magazine, Yenny! Ever think of submitting your entries to magazines? If you're tempted, check out http://www.writersmarket.com/ You would need to subscribe to the site (or buy the print version), but they show you how to "get published and paid for your writing." Dan travelled to China many years ago and brought back some 'interesting' examples of slaughtered English. "Three Goods Childs" was stitched on a pair of baby overalls, for example. And Jackie might have told you about the Cuban resort that proudly announced on a wall: "having a good time makes sense!" Huh? Looking forward to more updates! Maureen
9th August 2012

Thank you!
Thanks Mrs. Lee! Thats soo funny about the "Three Goods Childs"!! haha. I will definately check out that publishing website, too! :)

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0228s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb