Flea markets and K-pop.


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
July 9th 2011
Published: July 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I'm looking out onto the amazing view of Seoul from my dorm window and gently tending to the hundred of bites I've got from bugs in the last few days. A friend lent me this itch reliever which is amazing, although I put it on one of the bites on my face and now it's making my eyes water. arhhhhh. The weather is so up and down, so I've been catering for all situations. I bought some flip flops from the uni convenient store for 3000W and wear them everywhere now. I also carry around an umbrella for both rain and shine. Hopefully it'll just get hot in the next few days so I don't stress out every time I leave my room.

So yesterday we went to Namdaemun (or as I like to call it 'Matt Damon'😉 market which is full of clothes, souvenirs and weird little quirky shops to wander in and out of. It's mostly outside but there are indoor parts which are easy to get lost in. I found the prices to be pretty cheap i.e a t-shirt for 5000W but other things were more expensive like statues and little figurines. Markets are my fave thing to look around, there was so much k-pop memorabilia which I loved, although I'd like to do a bit of research first before i buy calenders and playing cards with people's faces I don't recognize.

Today we walked around Dongdaemun, a very 'hip' and studenty area, where we witnessed a k-pop band performing outside a department store. I believe their name was G.IAM and they were pretty standard. Very VERY feminine, average singers that winked at every girl that looked at them. I was hooked from the first song. The culture is so different when it comes to music in Korea, I am fascinated by it and want to learn a lot more about it. As an organized field trip, my class are going to M.NET to go see M.Countdown in a few weeks. I think this is a sort of variety show with k-pop bands in but I'm not too sure.

I also keep on eating soup based meals as it usually comes with rice FREE OF CHARGE which is good because soup doesn't really fill me up. I had pretty much the same meal for both lunch and dinner which was beef in a broth with mushrooms and then rice on the side. The side dishes for dinner were pretty good! We were given some cold noodles, rice cakes, seeweed and kimchi! Tried... most of it.



Advertisement



11th July 2011

K-pop
K-pop is relatively a recent phenomenon. Very commercial, obviously. Before that... http://www.psychemusic.org/KOREA.html

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb