01.28.2011 Flight Back to Japan from South Korea


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
February 26th 2011
Published: February 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today is our flight back to Japan. We had to wake up early and find our way back to the Airport, but it was very easy and smooth. I managed to grab a Pepsi to try just before we got on the train to the Airport. I really enjoy trying international brands in different counties to taste and see the difference. Personally, I think the carbonated drinks in Asia are much fizzier with a little less syrup flavor. The plane ride was perfect and it was very comfortable to sleep on the way back. As far as service, food, and timeliness were concerned Korean air was a perfect choice.

Some of my final thoughts for the trip are even thought I went to another part of Asia; Korea is very different and has a very original culture. I am very pleased with the food choices and with the places we visited, especially the DMZ and JSA tour. The hotel room was perfect for sleeping, with a clean and friendly staff to accompany. I was especially impressed with the subway and with the cleanliness of it, as well as the “T-card” Kaori and I used to get around with. I do wish people were more courteous on the train, however, I understand it just getting from point A to point B and sometimes people are in a rush. The food is very reasonable and also very filling. I am also impressed with the language skills that Korea has, a lot of stores had one or more workers that spoke Korean, Japanese, Chinese, or English language. A lot of times, stores sold the same or similar items within a close proximity to one another. For some reason several different stores sold, face masks, nail stuff, skin crèmes, and face crèmes; very confusing since it all looked the same to me just with different labels. The night vendors and store usually stay open around 10:00 to 11:00ish, which makes for good last minute food or souvenirs. Almost every public toilet has a small wastebasket next to it. The wastebasket is there for you to put your used toilet paper in. In many places, there is a sign somewhere near the toilet imploring you NOT to flush your toilet paper down the toilet. Apparently ancient, inadequate plumbing and largely non-existent sewage system are key reasons why people cannot flush paper. Also, women seem to grab and hold one another at all times. For example while walking through Myeong-dong area, Kaori and I could clearly see several women cuddling up next to one another. I’m not sure what it means but I was defiantly thrown for a loop when I first saw it. Overall, Korea is an innovative and cultural ware Country; it is also a very welcoming environment to foreigners with an in-depth and divine culture.



Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0195s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb