Let's hear it for the TSA


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
November 15th 2010
Published: November 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Playing it safe, I took a really early flight to leave plenty of time for my transfer at JFK to Korean Air. It's a good thing I did. My hand lotions set off alarms and I got to find out what they do to potential terrorists when they take them off behind curtains. First they pat you down from head to foot using the back of their hands for "sensitive" areas like your breasts and crotch. They put their hands inside your waist band (good thing I had on loose jeans) to check for explosives. Next they take everything in your carry-on bags apart and spread it out on top of a big table. They also take your passport to check if you are on a terror watch list.
The two female agents apologized 15 or 20 times, but I found it an interesting experience. We talked about feminism, why if we had a draft the wars in Iraq and Afghanishtan would be over, Israeli security (they thought a strip search was standard part of the procedure) and the Vietnam War. They had lots of questions and asked if I was a teacher. Not only did they determine that I was not a terrorist, but I was the most interesting traveler they had searched for several weeks.
I'm now is Seoul waiting form my next flight to Hanoi. I can't complain. I had a shower and I'm the only one in the room who is using a computer and NOT working on a PowerPoint presentation.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0192s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb