Routine


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
April 14th 2006
Published: April 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It took me awhile, but I;ve found it. And it is making everything easier. 5:45 am the alarm goes (ususally my body is up anyway, so I just roll out when the beep begins). Gym for a few hours...run on that damn treadmill while I look out over the park across the street from the school, or stare intensely at the tv screen in front of me while I watch a soccer game (I have no idea who these teams are, but I assume from England) or an English movie on the military network. Classes....never the same mind you so the routine doesn't get too monotonous. The it is time to walk. I can't get enough of it (though I am sure I have spoke too soon, I do have a lot of months to go). I love this city. I really really do. It was so difficult to leave Calgary- almost as difficult to leave the actual place than the people in it. But I have found a place I can really call home.
Last night at the Rocky Mountain I realized that I feel as at home here as anywhere. I miss people, and I miss the damn mountains, but I will get back there. This place is awesome (ok minus the Yellow Dust, I could do without that...and maybe the silkworms, they are pretty gross). For a city that has only really been around for a few years it feels very much like home. Maybe that is why, we are growing up together this city and I (lol...ok I'm pushing it...but that's what I do). The boys at the Tavern are exactly like everyone at home. It is like hanging out with people I have known my whole life. It is funny how you exaggerate the familiar when there is little else to compare it to. But being in that bar makes me feel like I am literally in Canada....literally. Walking outside after a hockey game and remembering I have to direct the cab driver in Korean...or that I have to take a cab in the first place...is jarring everytime.
Playoffs will end and I can get back to my life here. By that I mean I can start focusing on Korea again. But a whole year in a place that I intended to be a place of "biding my time" means I am in no hurry to get out and spend my money seeing palaces and temples in the countryside. I'll get there. Those places aren't going anywhere. But hockey, well....you gotta keep up when you can. Pretty soon it will be over again, and god only know where I will be next year this time of year. Hard to get CBC sattelite broadcasts in Kathmandu in the middle fo a Buddhist temple. Or at least, I'm assuming so.

Few more pics to check out...the blogs are more of an excuse than anything to get these pictures off my memory card. Cheers


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

my nightly strollmy nightly stroll
my nightly stroll

i wish those blowwoms stayed out all year. they said spring and fall are gorgeous in bundang. they're right so far
blair witch, korean styleblair witch, korean style
blair witch, korean style

ok so my walk is safe, but i sitll get the creeps sometimes....everywhere you go there are graves


Tot: 0.179s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 7; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0758s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb