It's Showtime


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
March 10th 2006
Published: March 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The cat came backThe cat came backThe cat came back

Little Alex is one of the smallest 6 year olds I have ever seen.
Hello!

A couple weeks ago we had the year end Kindergarten concert at school. These concerts are taken very seriously with the private Kindergartens. This is a chance for the school staff to affirm that the parents’ decision to pay big bucks for that school was a good one. (These “hagwons”, or private schools, are a dime a dozen around here.)

As teachers, we started being told about the importance of this event back in November. We had to pick our class costumes in December (yes, two official costumes changes per class) and confirm songs, skits, and dances. Weekly, and sometimes daily, rehearsals were enforced from the big wigs because it was important that the “kids don’t make mistakes”. Obviously we wanted to do everything possible so that the students had success on the big night, but having little ones do the same song a few times each day, everyday, was a bit much. There was even the suggestion that we would record the voices of our students prior to the big evening and simply play the recording that night just in case they didn’t sing well enough or forgot the words. We quashed that idea pretty quickly by
I had boy cats and girl catsI had boy cats and girl catsI had boy cats and girl cats

Sorry for all the kiddy pics. I'm not a real teacher at home so these kids are still so novel and cute to me.
reminding the administration that these were children (5 and 6 year olds!) and that even though they run the risk of not singing perfectly, their parents would probably like to hear their live voices.

Colin’s sister, Christine, had arrived the night before so she got the witness all the little performances. Each class had to do a song, skit, and dance. Colin’s class did the line dance and my class did a groovy little routine to Eye of the Tiger and Hey Mickey. It was so much fun teaching those little pipsqueaks the routine…probably one of the highlights of my time with them. Overall, the evening went well, and Christine even got a formal introduction over the mic to all the parents. The owners also wanted her posing in pics with us later on…all those foreigner faces are good for business. 

So this week a new school year started and I have a new class of 5 year olds who have never spoken English before. I realize now that I was spoiled when we first arrived and I was given a class that had had an English teacher for 6 months prior to me taking over. Colin now has some 6 year olds with no previous English, but I think that one year age difference has given his students a little more courage to leave “mommy”. My kids cry everyday. The first day was a bit of a gong show. All these little cuties were being led to my class in tears. I was trying to comfort them, but they understood nothing. My only tools were the soft tone of my voice and little hugs. I almost had a wet eye!! Anyway, we’ve got our work cut out for us again. There are only so many hand actions and funny faces you can make to have order in the classroom! Oh, and it’s also fun when the parents decide to change their child’s English name on the 3rd day of school. Yes, English names are given to all students who learn English, in an effort to make it easier for their teachers. However, two of my kids had their names changed mid-week so now it’s even more fun trying to get their attention. Good times…

Well I’m off for now. We have to organize some of the pics from Christine’s visit and then we’ll post those
With the ownersWith the ownersWith the owners

The flowers were from the kids.
soon. We had so much fun with her here. It was so neat to share our Korean experience with someone from home—it was definitely a highlight for us.

Kristy




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

"It's small world" finale"It's small world" finale
"It's small world" finale

I never want to sing or hear this song again.
Here's your first diplomaHere's your first diploma
Here's your first diploma

The little girl gave me a kiss on the cheek and apparently that was my facial response.


16th March 2006

Korea to Arabia
Well, those kids are pretty cute, but I'm sure you'll be fine leaving the non-English speaking Korean kids and trading them in for non-English speaking Arab kids, as well as trading in hosting a Christine L. for being hosted by another Christine L.! YAY!
19th March 2006

Dance Routine
Who knew that several years of practicing dance routines would actually be applicable in your work? Do you have that on your resume? Now, how were the cosutmes made? They were awesome. Reminds me of my first figure skating year end when I was 5 and we did the bird dance on ine - but I can guarantee our costumes or organization did not compare! Good work!

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0889s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb