Paper Planes and Metal Trains


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
August 17th 2009
Published: August 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The train approachesThe train approachesThe train approaches

They have doors on the platform to prevent people from throwing themselves before the train. And just for safety in general.
I really like the Seoul subway system- it's spoiling me. I won't be able to go back to DC's metro and be satisfied anymore. I have tasted the forbidden fruit. How are you gonna keep me on the farm now that I've seen Seoul? (To paraphrase a WWI song title: How 'Ya Gonna Keep 'Em Down on the Farm (After They've Seen Paree?) Yeah, I'm that much of a history dork.)

Not only is it cheap, efficient, clean, helpful (does any American subway system have signs in 3 languages?), and comprehensive, but it has great audio too. In particular the alert sound that plays when a train is approaching the platform. It always reminds me of the song "Paper Planes" by M.I.A. Don't ask me why. But I find myself singing that song all the time when I ride the subway. I would make a music video about the subway to that song, but who's got time??

Ironically, "Paper Planes" could be the theme song for the WMATA, since it seems like all they want to do is take my money.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb