Got cheek?


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
March 26th 2009
Published: March 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

InsadongInsadongInsadong

Pam and I went to Insadong and saw this tower thing.. explanation to follow..
I went out to eat with another teacher tonight and we ate cheek. Pig cheek, I think. It's only gross if you sit and think about it, really, it was delicious. Galbi is the Korean bbq with the grill on the table. It comes with various sauces to dip the grilled meat in and cloves of garlic that roast on the table also big lettucy leaves to wrap it up and eat it with. Very yummy and very filling which is good since I am running low on won these days. I came at the end of February which means I don't get paid until early April. It's hard to know what to expect money-wise when coming to a new culture and I think I splurged a bit on things with the sole purpose of making me feel comfortable here. No, I didn't need that huge fluffy bath mat but it makes getting up in the morning to shower a hellofalot easier. No, I probably didn't need those really nice tea mugs but my tea bags from home definitely help me get through a tense day at work or a relaxing Sunday afternoon. Plus it must be noted that shoes are
InsadongInsadongInsadong

blah blah
for sale everywhere and I have yet to even pick a pair up.. even though I've wanted to!

The weekend is almost upon me and I am really looking forward to it! Here are a few pics from the last couple of weeks, some of my little preschoolers as well!

Love you all,
Moi xo


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

InsadongInsadong
Insadong

Jongno Tower.. i think it's called
InsadongInsadong
Insadong

view from the top floor
schoolschool
school

Poly School - sign outside of work
Pre-KPre-K
Pre-K

arts and crafts!
jadenjaden
jaden

riri. notice Daniel in the background sticking his tongue out..
annelieseanneliese
anneliese

princess pigtail
pre-kpre-k
pre-k

computer time = quiet time
annelieseanneliese
anneliese

one of my faves, obviously
Grade 3Grade 3
Grade 3

my fave elementary class. these kids are smart, funny and give me snacks..A+ for everyone!
HongdaeHongdae
Hongdae

lots of jokes can be made here.. all punch lines lead to "amanda pierce" bahaha (jk)
ItaewonItaewon
Itaewon

Funny signs everywhere. This one is for a clothing store that is actually quite lovely
HongdaeHongdae
Hongdae

Ice cream is all the rage here.. you can get it in a fresh waffle or you can get it in a crepe. you can even get a piece of cake in a crepe- options are endless!
AnastasiaAnastasia
Anastasia

the crane game is on every street corner. It's funny to see businessmen in suits trying to win a lighter or a watch..
crane game!crane game!
crane game!

look at all those sweet prizes!
toilettoilet
toilet

try squatting on this after a bottle or 2 of soju..


26th March 2009

Ow!
Yes, I got cheek, and reading that you ate one made mine hurt. Did it taste like pork?
26th March 2009

yeah it was like thinly sliced bbq'd pork.. like i said, gross when you think about it. plus they had a picture of a guy holding a pig's face over his own face which thankfully i didn't see until we were done!
28th March 2009

Just read your last 2 entries
I'm so happy that you're out and about, I'd love to see that art gallery and enjoy that latte!!! the pig cheek sounds different they probably use everything. You're a brave girl. I love reading the blog because there are details that we don't have the time to talk about on the phone/Skype like the "guy' toilety thing that you used. The pics are great. And the kids "look" very cute. I'll talk to you soon.

Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0611s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb