Return to Seoul


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
September 30th 2008
Published: September 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

For those reading this travel blog who don't happen to be my family...I guess I should fill you in on how I ended up in Seoul in the first place. After graduating college in May 2008, and facing the challenge of finding employment with my psychology degree, I stumbled across an ad online about teaching English in South Korea. After living in California all my life, I was attracted to the adventure of working overseas and trying something new. With not much time to think over my decision, I took advantage of the opportunity to teach at an English Summer Camp in Seoul for a month, and thus changed the direction of my life up until then. As chaotic as my time at the camp was, that one month instilled in me a love for teaching and living in the Republic of Korea. I knew once I returned stateside I would have to find a way to come back for a longer stay. I quickly secured a job at the Seoul English Village for a one year contract, and as soon as my visa was processed I was on my way back over. That just about catches us up....

Day 1

I don't think my mind relaxed for the entire 12 hour flight from LA to Seoul. As excited as I was to be returning there were too many other thoughts racing through my head...did I pack everything I needed, would I really be able to make it a whole year away from friends and family, am I going to be good at my job??? Not even the in-flight movies could distract me from my inner monologue. Once I arrived with all my luggage I was greeted by a driver waiting with my name on made a sign, which reassured me a little. It was getting late in the evening, so when I arrived at the campus I was a unnerved by how dark and quiet everything seemed to be. I was greeted by David, the head teacher who showed me to my room and gave me a brief run down of the place. I was impressed with my living conditions for the year...twin bed, TV, fridge, free wi-fi access...all in my own little unit. Most importantly there was plenty of space to store my 2 big suitcases of stuff I had brought over. My bathroom also seemed to be suitable, and I think I'm going to get along just peachy with the girl I share it with. Caroline from Canada is very friendly and has an adventurous spirit that I appreciate. She offered some of her chicken pasta she had gotten from Costco since I hadn't eaten yet, and we chatted for a long while that night over dinner. By 10pm I was exhausted and decided to get some rest before the big day tomorrow. I fell sound asleep while watching CSI...I think I'm going to like things here.

Coming Next: Day 2

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb