We Found Our New Home!


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
February 29th 2008
Published: February 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Making CandyMaking CandyMaking Candy

Kneeding a green dough which is rolled into small pieces and served as "sweets"
Well, today was, all in all, a pretty good day. We took the train to the Bosan station and met with Sally, a landlord I got in contact with through an Army wife I have befriended through the internet. She showed us three apartments that her family owns and after some debate, decided which would be our new home! I didn't take any pictures, but I will tomorrow and I'll be sure to post them.

The place has a large kitchen (a dual gas stove top, but no oven), then two tiny living rooms, and a small bedroom. The bathroom includes a shower, but the showed is simply a removable shower head and a drain on the floor- no shower curtain or way of keeping the water from spraying all over the room. The floors are heated, and for an additional $150 a month we can use the furniture already there (dining room set, couch, dressers, TV stand, and bed) and air conditioner. The rent seems unusually high, but the apartment
Tree of WishesTree of WishesTree of Wishes

This tree is covered with thousands of wishes and kind words
is only a few hundred feet from the train station, which is important because my school is in another city.

After an ordeal with finding a bank which we could use out ATM card to withdraw money and get it converted into Won, we were able to give her a deposit. Sally is very sweet- she was determined to convey to us, in very broken English, that (1) she and her family are very honest and never lie, (2) they are very clean and expect "normal" tenants, which means clean, and (3) now we will be her friend, and will be like children to her parents. She says several times "welcome to my house" and insists that she will give us a tour of the town and show us where everything is.

After that we took a train to Uijungbu and made our way to my school. We were given a tour of the school and I met, again, with Richard, my teaching partner, and he gave me the lesson plans for the following week. By lesson plans, I mean he told me which workbooks the children will work from, which stories I will read, and when I
Street Vendors Street Vendors Street Vendors

At this particular vendor stand he sells, on a stick, rolled seafood with cornmeal, deep-fried, then dressed with ketchup, mustard, and wasabi- excellent!
will teach science or art. It's pretty vague, which I find a little scary (because I'm not sure what they really expect from me) but also empowering because I have the ability to infuse my ideas and creativity into the lessons. (So if any of you teachers have any great ideas of things I can do in my classes, please let me know!)

On the way back to the train station we bought some fried dough from a street vendor, and I believe we are all in agreement when we say that street food is, although probably not as bacteria-free or health code-concious, better than any restaurant grub we've had so far. But alas! I have spoken too soon! We went to a place called Mr. Pizza (Dan has yelled out in excitement everytime we have passed a picture of pizza so we finally gave in) and it was just like Papa John's. Needless to say, it was a welcomed meal. We haven't found Korean food to be very flavorful or, in most cases, identifiable.

Well, tomorrow is a BIG day. Dan is going to sign in, so chances are he will be on a mandatory two-week lockdown,
Traditional Korean MealTraditional Korean MealTraditional Korean Meal

This traditional Korean meals includes a main dish with several side dishes including "Kimchi"
so I won't be seeing him for awhile. I will hopefully get my military I.D. card so I can go on base and grocery shop. Also, we will request for Dan to move off base and that way we can get our shipped boxes delivered to the apartment which, tragically, will remain empty and without my beloved shoes, until the boxes arrive. (I DO need to get my clothes quickly- I only packed 3-4 nice outfits for school and I've already had to wear 2 of them.) Then Mom and I will drag our suitcases to the apartment, sign the lease, and set out to find sheets and pillows so we can stay there from now on. The hotel stays are getting a little expensive so if we can stay in the apartment that would save us some dough.

Well, I'm not sure how long it will be until I have internet access again. We will have to order it to be installed in the apartment, and that could take awhile. Until then, take care all! I will write again soon.

P.S. Please notice that you can write responses to these blog entries, and even post comments about
My School!My School!My School!

This is the building where my school, LCI, is located on floors 3-5.
them on my page for all to see. xoxo


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Little ShoesLittle Shoes
Little Shoes

Here the children place their shoes on name tags that display their English names.
Cheeeese!Cheeeese!
Cheeeese!

Dan and I having traditional Korean lunch with Mom


29th February 2008

Amazing!
I am glad that you and Dan are doing well. Enjoy!!
1st March 2008

So glad to hear from you,hope everything is going to be great for you two over there. Miss you!!!!!
4th March 2008

So Happy!!!!!
I'm so excited to hear all the interesting things happening to you so far. It's making me soooo excited to come see you! I'm thinking November, but you should feel out the seasons and let me know the best time of year! Love you!

Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0908s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb