Teaching English in South Korea


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
February 16th 2008
Published: July 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

hide tim, hidehide tim, hidehide tim, hide

hmmm was this before or after he was standing on his chair shouting? i have no control over him. none.
So, as most of your know, the reason that I came to South Korea was to teach English as a second language. The kids that I teach are mostly in elementary school, with a few middle school classes, and one or two students just entering high school. My school, Lass Language Institute, some days leaves a bit to be desired- I never thought I'd be one to say this, but the kids are what make me love it. They all have such personality and are so clever.

Korean culture expects every one to work their hardest and to their full potential all the time, and this applies to the children as well. For example, the kids go to academies (hagwons), many academies. I've had 8 year old kids crying because they are so stressed out, they have too much homework to do, and their mom will be mad at them if they don't get 100% on their test.

The area that I live in, Mokdong Seoul, is quite affluent, so the mothers don't have jobs, their kids are their job. So the kids go to maybe two English Academies, Chinese Characters, History, Science, Piano, Art, Math, Soccer, Taekwondo, and
michelle workin hardmichelle workin hardmichelle workin hard

can you see over your desk?
maybe even Social Studies. Not all of them take as many as 10, but there is a good combination of those to total on average 5.

With that said, they take such happiness in simple pleasures, they are kids after all. They love stickers, playing outside, getting to see their dads and playing computer games of course. They make me feel like such a celebrity when they are all lined up to get on the elevator, shouting my name and grabbing at me, giving me presents! I'm going to crave attention when I get home!

Teaching at a Hagwon isn't fun all the time. The hours are generally long, at least 8 hours a day and many of us work from 130-9 with minimal breaks. I have it pretty lucky, on Tuesdays and Thursdays I only teach about 2.5 hours, but that isn't common! It is important to study your contract carefully, where I've had only a few problems with my school, friends have had many issues. Before signing any contract you must talk to a foreign teacher that currently works at the school to get an honest opinion of the working and living conditions.

The new visa application process is much more strict than it ever used to be. I don't blame them for tightening the ropes on who they let into the country. After all, we are teaching their children! I've heard that since the new rules have been in place for several months now, a lot of the confusion has subsided. It still does take a couple months for all of the necessary paper work to be processed, but it isn't a big deal anymore.

Living in a foreign country really does make the teaching experience complete. There is so much to learn, see and do all the time, that you rarely find yourself bored. Also the community of foreigners make life a lot easier, since chances are they are having the same difficulties at work as you are. I can go to foreign food marts, foreign book stores and many foreign restaurants. A taste of home is never far. It is so easy to forget sometimes where you actually are when you are sitting in a Canadian Bar surrounded by foreigners eating poutine and chicken wings.

I really do love living here, but think it would be hard not having a
may, claudia, andreamay, claudia, andreamay, claudia, andrea

may's mom had twins a month ago and she still doesn't know her sister's names.
expiration date on it. A year is more than enough time to get to explore Korea and learn the culture. Another year would be enjoyable maybe with a better job, but probably not going to happen. With only a few more weeks left here, I am sad to be leaving but excited for what lies ahead, and to share what I've learned living here.
Questions on living in Korea are more than welcome.




Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

little lisalittle lisa
little lisa

her outfit is always only one colour. pink, purple, black, blue..always.
my 23rd birthdaymy 23rd birthday
my 23rd birthday

they bought the birthday girl cake!
my bedroommy bedroom
my bedroom

wait a second... I only have one room!
bathroombathroom
bathroom

I'm lucky that I have a shower door. usually the shower is over the toilet


Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0192s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb