My apartment


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
January 4th 2008
Published: January 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

These are a few pics I took of my apartment on Christmas. It looks a little more homey now but I still need to buy a dresser and a table.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

My viewMy view
My view

What I see when I look out my window. The small dots of light in the back are high rise apartment buildings. Most people here live in those. They are named things like Hyundai and Samsung usually as far as I've seen. Not very distinctive looking, they are absolutely everywhere. I'm glad I don't live in one actually, I really don't like using the elevator unless I have to. Plus elevators are sloww here.
doorway doorway
doorway

Every.one. takes their shoes off at the door at apartments, doctors offices, some karaoke places, some restaurants. I like it a lot, it seems cleaner, even though I usually take my shoes off in the US too. I just don't like the clunky sandals that are way too big that you have to wear if you're clunking around the building (like to the bathroom or at the doctors office) But if you saw the sidewalks here you would understand why everyone does it, lol. Very dusty and lots of spit. Also my room is heated by hot water underneath the floor. It's very comfortable, I love it! I love coming home and sitting in front of the tv on the floor eating dinner XDD then I usually lay down and try to fall asleep XD By the way, I don't know why that phone is there, it doesn't work..
my bedmy bed
my bed

My bed is pretty hard, as in there's no boxspring but a hard stone? board under the mattress. And my bedspread says "Wanangs", which I'm pretty sure is nonsense. Plus that purple pillow is Korean/Japanese style, with something in it that makes it really hard and it doesn't squish at all.
I need tablesI need tables
I need tables

I'm lucky, I got a mirror from the person who lived here before me. But I would really like an entertainment center to keep my tv and stuff in.. can't afford to get one yet ><
BathroomBathroom
Bathroom

It's pretty freaking small, but it serves its purpose. If you can't tell, there's no shower. There's a drain under the sink, where the water drains when you take a shower. the whole room is tilted so the water runs toward the drain. Which of course is a good thing, but when I come home late or really tired, it's very disorienting lol.
The shower/sinkThe shower/sink
The shower/sink

Yeah, that's my shower head. I like that the basin is so wide though, I think they should be like that everywhere! I just have to be careful about where I aim the shower head when I shower because if I can either a. get my towel and toilet paper wet b. get the washing machine wet on the top, which could cause it to short and die c. get the door wet, which will make it more mildew-y looking than now it's a tough maneuver, i'm hoping it will get easier to do lol. Now that we are talking about sinks, most public bathrooms here don't have either soap, towels, or hot water. a lot of places don't have any of the above. I really miss that about the US. lol. I'm glad I have hand sanitizer but I haven't looked for it in the store, I dunno what i'll do when I run out..
KitchenKitchen
Kitchen

I like my kitchen, no complaints. Most people don't have ovens here, so I got lucky with that. Well one thing that I miss is a ton of counter space to prep. Also here, there's no garbage disposal so you have these little baskets in the drain to catch the food. Food is separated from regular trash.
My neighborhoodMy neighborhood
My neighborhood

This is close to my apartment, about 5 minutes walking down the street. My school is in the building to the right, you can see the sign but it's cut off lol. It's the one that is just a red C. Very close to my apartment, so it's very convenient for me. Takes less than 10 minutes from when I leave my room to when I am in school, more like 5 minutes even.


5th January 2008

Cool
Thanks for taking the time to publish that for us Becky, I really enjoyed looking at it and learning about your new place. I can see where the bathroom might be your biggest concern. I would study up on Feng Shui and place some key items .. especially by the front door. Did you find your little dragon protector/friend? Glad you like the kitchen area. A mirror should be placed where you can see anyone coming from behind you while you're cooking. Don't worry about counter space .. the more you have the more clutter magically appears.

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0764s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb