On my way


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
October 21st 2007
Published: October 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Myeong-DongMyeong-DongMyeong-Dong

Every Neon Lovers Fantasy
Well, it seemed to take forever, but I'm finally on my way. A very long and relatively uneventful day to kick off the trip - getting up at 5.30am wasn't my favourite thing, but it got me to the airport and on my flight. I even managed to sneak that extra kg or so into my check in luggage (the hand held luggage, however may kill me!). Anyone who has ever travelled with me knows that packing light isn't my strong point, and this trip is no different.

Arrived in Seoul about 5.40pm (6.40pm brissie time) and after an uneventful unloading managed to change money and get a ticket for the bus into town. Incheon Airport is about an hour from downtown Seoul and the entire trip is on wide freeways along the Han River (which is huge by the way). Makes Brissies inner city bypass look like a cart track! The bus system from the airport is fantastic and for the first time in an Asian city - the hassle factor zero. I had one guy offer a taxi service and when I said no, he smiled, bowed and turned away - unheard of!!

It was dark by
N'Seoul TowerN'Seoul TowerN'Seoul Tower

On top of old Namsan and pretty at night
the time I hit Seoul proper so my first impressions are of a clean, modern city totally addicted to neon. Can I state here that I did not get lost at all although I'm sure over time I'll get completely turned around later in my trip. I'm staying at the Seoul Youth Hostel at Namsam which is quite central and after checking in walked down to Myeong-dong to find food.

Spicy beef soup with about 6 accompaniments including 2 kinds of kimchi, tried it all don't know what half of it was, but it was all tasty ... all that plus a bottle of SoJu for about $10 AUD - bargain. Wandered around a bit, then back to the hostel then to provide words for my reading public. Even though the area is kind of dark (and up hill) as Namsan is a mountain in the middle of Seoul it feels really safe here. So no problems, although I did manage to interrupt an intimate moment for a young couple - can't say the side of the road would be my ideal location, but I guess you do what you can!

Thanks to everyone who helped me out getting ready for this trip - I will blog, email and if you're lucky you may even get a postcard (you remember mail don't you ... pretty pictures ... wish you were here on the back ... comes in the post!).

Take care all Love Jane

Advertisement



Tot: 0.187s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 14; qc: 91; dbt: 0.1058s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb