"I make the sound of an Elephant....QuAcK qUaCk"


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
April 8th 2007
Published: April 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

At the airport.....At the airport.....At the airport.....

What would you make of this?!?! ;)
The Taiwan possey and I headed over to South Korea for a trip to Seoul, and made room for a little 'soul' searching. I have to say the highlight of the trip was watching clips of 'Whose Line Is It Anways" on the plane --- ok so maybe not the highlight, but they were pretty damn funny! I had a short work week last week and headed to the Cat Man's on wednesday night where I hung out with him and had dinner and hit the bed early sinec we had to be up at like 530AM to get ready and catch the train to Taoyan to get to the airport. I have to mention that I really do enjoy airports.

Most know I am obsessed with people watching, and what better way to do so not only at the Iowa State Fair but at the airport. There are so many emotions; hesitation, excitement, longing, sadness, joy! I think my favorite part about being in the airport is at the arrival gate, whether I am picking someone up, or someone is waiting on the other end to greet me, there is always so much joy in such a small area. One of my favorites is when the little kids see their-to what i am asussimg are their grandparents-and run up and give them a big hug with a smile on their face and their grandparents are smiling ear to ear, squeezing cheeks and patting heads and say 'ooo look at how big you've gotten' (ha ok so maybe some of this doesnt happen every time but I am using some of my own personal exprience from back in the day). It is one of my favorite instant feelings to come in physical contact with people who you care for the most that you havent seen in such a long time--and I can't wait for June 23rd for that to happen

Ok back on track....On Thursday Rach and Jas met Mike and I at the train station and then we headed over in a cab to the airport, where Paul, Nicole, Anna and Jaquette where waiting. We made it to Seoul at about 3 in the afternoon, where then we took a bus to our Hotel, which was awesome because it was right next to the Subway station and in the middle of the city, and by Namundaum market!!! We ventured out that night and checked out the market and walked around the city and ate some really good Korean food, bugolgi -it is sorta like a mini bbq--it was sooooooooooo DELICIOUS especially with the side orders of KIMCHI and the fresh strawberrys we got every morning!!! Jason, Paul, Rach and I went out in Itaewon that first night. Rach and I were in luck not only dide we actually get to see white non-taiwanese/semi cool/approachable men, though they were most military and you could totally tell the young ones, it was semi funny to sit back and observe, but it was 'ladies night' you better beleive we took full advantage of the free drinks and basically stood in the line the whole night,, yeah right only kidding, we managed to hit the dance floor a few times and work up our social skills with men back up to somewhat level of normalcy. haha. Rach Jason Paul and I had our own little party when we got back from the bars, where not only did the air conditioner experience make a lastin impression but Paul's poor eyes witnessed a 'booty' show that will be one that is most memorable 😉 LOVE YOU!!! haha. Friday we got off to a slow start, but when we were up and going we headed out into the city to eat a Bennigans, where now looking back wasnt the smartest idea since our bodies have not consumed grease liek that from home, and even splitting a Monte Cristo, FF's and soup between Rach and I, (wchich we could only eat one slice each) we didnt feel so hot that whole rest of the day. Before hand we did stop in a mall and Rachel and I participated in what was at the moment the coolest thing on the floor we had ever seen, interactive digital soccer game....though it was cuter when the little one year old children would chase the ball around it it kept moving all over the floor. ..anyways i think it was a 'you have to be there' type cuz its to hard to explain. We then went off to see the Gyeongbokgung Palace----so neat! Rach and I managed to get coned into take picture in ancient Korean outfits infront of one of the buildings, but it actually turned out pretty damn cute, we picked
Palace Palace Palace

Inside
the perfect colored outfits that coordinated haha. We then went to the Art Street, where we looked at some really neat pieces, but most reminded us of Chinese art, and we wanted to steer clear of that, so instead..haha we got a coffe cup from the Starbucks in Korea (that is really frekain cool) and a bbq chicken stick that was a whoppin 52cm haha. it was a monster and it got all over our faces as we ate it...At some point of our trip we actually went to a Market, where you can literally get 'everything' and 'anything' your heart desires, it was sorta overwhelming, but i did managed to find a flippin cute green hat that I later wore out bowling. Speaking of bowling, Mike Rach Jas and I manged to fit in a frame, and it was superrrrrrrrrrrrrrr funny. The boys totally scuked until for some reason that is still unknown Jas totally kicked ass in his last frame and managed to be me by 5--WHATEVER--Rach kicked ass the whole time and won...and poor Mike..let's just say he needs to stay with playing basketball 😉 We def. had some good laughs! Saturday was my favorite day with
Korean BBQKorean BBQKorean BBQ

Delicious---kinda like a Lettuce Wrap but BETTER!
this trip. Very informational. All of us went on a half day tour to the DMZ....(border of North Korea and South Korea). Along the way there were miles and miles of fence and guard posts that were supposed to keep the North Korean military out from tryin to get into South Korea, guards are stationed everyday 24 hours a day, there were also, bridges well kinda like bridges, over the roads that incase of an attack they could be bombed and would fall, in hopes to stop the North Koreans from advancing on the road. There Our first stop was the Freedom bridge (this is where families who were seperated for a long period of time between the North and South were finally united together again) there was a bell before the bridge that was rung while yelling something about finally being free. There was also a view of North Korea from the bridge and we took a picture when it said not too, but no one was shot so it was all ok i guess haha. Next, we went to the 3rd Tunnel, found in 1970s, here we saw how the South Koreans drilled (by using a big drill
Rach and IRach and IRach and I

Ladies Night = lots of men ha
imported from Germany) a tunnel that led down to the tunnel they found that was bombed and dug out by the North Koreans that led to the South. It was an unreal experience that is still hard to describe. I was walking in a tunnel that at one point, many many people had being planning to use for an attack, and thousands and thousands of land mines still layed above me, thankfully nothing set them off. And I will admit the hike back up the tunnel, blew, my legs felt like spaghetti but i think my butt got a little tighter, tho too bad the military guys were on a tour and saw me panting as i was running/walking trying to make the pain go away easier going up the tunnel..ha ooo well. the best was when rach said 'maybe if i was in shape and worked out this would be easier." which one guy replied "yeah.' or something along those lines, either way it was just funny he replied back. Then our next stop was the Dora Observatory, here you could actually see the border line of North Korea and South Korea and each flag, and what got me was how if u looked in the binoculours you could see the guard posts and the guards in North Korea staring right back at you. Our last stop was Dorasan Station, it is used right now for supplying materials from the South to the North, but some hope that one day it will be used for passengers and unifying the North and South....Pres. Bush also visited in 2002 where his picture and autograph on a cement piece is cased. There wer also guards who were posted and Rach and I took a picture of them, it was to hard to resist since the one guard couldnt stop laughing and smiling, i think maybe because I kept saying "can we do this. do you think they speak English. do you think they know what we are saying." I was like paranoide we would get arrested. I also got a stamp in my passport that said i was in North and South Korea, so well see how the US customs likes that one when I try to enter. ha. we were told if we wanted to have a 'eyebrows raised' with a North Korean stamp on our passport we could take one, but it wasnt advised, but ehhh whatever--im 'gansta' like my kids say. When we returend back to Seoul, rach and i headed out to Osan (where the US AF base is located so even more boys) and had to check out the ever famous purse shops...and WOW WAS IT HEAVEN. but we found a bargin---$10...ha the other ones were like anywhere from 50-200 american..well shiza if that is the case you are goignt o spend on a fake migh as well save another hundy or so and buy a real one, so we did a good job hunting. I also couldnt resist this pretty ceramic plate, rice bowl, and mug set. its sweet and i cant wait to use it. After our endless hours on the subway we made it back where Anna and the family she was staying with, Paul, Mike, Jason, Rach, and I all headed out to eat for our last dinner, where we had another type of bugolgi-but this time it was more of like a pot roast and it was delicious, after wards they would make fried rice in the pot with the left over juice, later i was informed that the small white things where not grain but fish eggs S-I-C-K After dinner we had a few Sojus (really good korean liquor) and headed to bed, since once again we had to be up at 530AM to head to the airport. Sorry, I forgot something way importante....ha. On the streets you can find Automatic bathrooms-where you have to pay to use them, kinda like an upgraded porta potty. but its amazing, they play music and talk to you inside while you are peeing--its just something everyone needs to experience and I needed to mention it.

Since this trip to Korea was my last big trip before I head home I am so happy that I got to spend it with the people who I have grown to love most in Taiwan (minus muoy not being there). They have been my support system over the last year and we have def. had some pretty funny moments and good memories. They will forever remain in my heart and I will miss them greatly when it is time to depart the wonderful island of Taiwan!





Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



12th April 2007

=(
darn, double darn...you all looked like you had so much fun. sucks i missed out. whatever...that means you have to go with me to korea again and be my tour guide in the future!! haha. great post!! loved the bowling.

Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0772s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb