Meet my Class...


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
March 15th 2007
Published: March 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Park time...Park time...Park time...

Its Ms. Trena
Just like Canadians, Koreans celebrate Valentines day on February 14. However, in most Asian cultures, this is a day where women express their love towards men and men receive all the gifts etc. Bad deal if your a girl. However, in Korea they have a special day called White Day. This day occurs on March 14 and it where men express their love toward women. My Korean friend Jade says that if you dont receive anything on White day, or if you don't have a boyfriend then the people who didn't receive any chocolate or candies will get together on April 14 and eat black noodles. I thought this was hilarious when she told me! But anyways, I did receive candy from a few of my students which I am enjoying! Koreans make very sweet candy, and it takes a while to get used to it but its still very tasty. So that is white day...
Today, I took my camera to school to take some pictures of my kids. My class is very active and energetic. They also have a lot of funny moments and I hope you enjoy the pics!! We also made green pudding today in honor of St. Patricks day!! It was a blast, the kids thought that Jasmine and I were crazy but I think that they enjoyed it.
This year is shaping up to be an interesting one and I think that I will be challenged but I also think that Kangaroo class will have a lot of fun!! We all know what kindergarten kids are like in Canada...well imagine what they are like trying to learn English and be kindergarten kids!?! They still act up and need you to pull up there pants when they are done peeing...haha yes its true...but sometimes we all look at each other and just shrug our shoulders because we have no idea what each other are saying!! They will ask me things in Korean....and I'm like okay lets play a game called the teacher guesses what I want? Its funny! But they are very cute and I am growing to like each and every one of them more and more each day. Check out the uniforms that they have to wear! And get this under those there parents put them in long underwear, I swear that one of these days one of my kids is going to pass
Snack time...Snack time...Snack time...

This is Jenna...She's classy!
out from heat exhaustion! Its crazy and I hope that is gets better when summer comes, otherwise I could be spending half my day getting my kids undressed!
In Korea kids are expected to be well rounded in everything so my kindergarten kids go to school with me from 9:30 AM til 2:30 PM Monday to Friday and then I am not sure what they do but probably piano lessons or some other form of etiquette school. Some of them may even be in Korean Kindergarten!?!? Then my afterschool kids are in Korean School while I am teaching kindergarten and then they come and do english school til 6:30. So if we all thought growing up and being a kids that got to play with friends and ride our bikes after school, I think that we have nothing to complain about.
Other than school, because I feel like I talk about that all the time, I am doing great. The apartment is starting to feel like home and I have been working out at Califronia WOW! everyday. I have been a little sick lately but trying to rest as much as I can and get better. Hope you all have a great St. Paddys day and drink some green beer for me!
Love you all
Jal Jee Nae,
Trena


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Park time...Park time...
Park time...

Kangaroo class
Park time...Park time...
Park time...

Mr. Morgan playing
Park time...Park time...
Park time...

It's Ryan!
Park time...Park time...
Park time...

What a Korean park looks like, thats right no sand or grass!
Park time...Park time...
Park time...

Oh no Mr. Morgan!
Park time...Park time...
Park time...

Flyin' Kevin...look out!
Park time...Park time...
Park time...

Mr. E-Wan...daredevil!
Park time...Park time...
Park time...

Jenna and E-Wan
Park time...Park time...
Park time...

Angelica...she is my little one
Park time...Park time...
Park time...

The girlie girls
Park time...Park time...
Park time...

Mr. Morgan and Penguin class
Park time...Park time...
Park time...

Penguin and Kangaroo Unite!


Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0719s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb