Settling in


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
March 13th 2007
Published: March 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, it's my second day at Kaewoong middle school . I haven't begun teaching yet. I'm observing the korea teachers' classes so I can get the feel of the students. Tomorrow I will begin officially. I'm presently sitting in my very own classroom ( korean teachers usually move to different classes every period so there's not 1400 children running through the halls every 45 minutes. Down side... I'm very secluded from everyone else who has their desks in the teachers office.
I'm preparing name tags for all my students right now. Their names are on their uniforms in Korean letters but I'd prefer to have their name spelled out in English so it doesn't take me an entire minute to sound out their names everytime I want to call on them.
I'll be arranging the desks into groups instead of rows as well so I can mix the smarter students with the slower students. Having 40 students in each class, it makes it difficult to attended to everyone who needs my help, this way they can help eachother as well.
I have 22 classes in total... I only see each class for 45 minutes a week...will I make a difference? I'll try my best so that I make an impression for at least some of them.
I have 3 classes with teachers... one is for teachers in my school who teach other subjects (not english), it will be a beginners type class. The other 2 are for the Korean english teachers where we'll be practicing conversation. Good way to get to know everyone!
I just got the schedule for the school holidays... I'm quite happy! There's a lot! In our district it's a bit poor so they won't be orginazing a summer camp. Therefore they will only need a few foreign teachers to teach a few classes everyday during 3 weeks of the summer holidays. I may be one of the teachers, or I may not be... if I am I'll only be in for a few hours a day so it's great either way!
We love our apartment! MUCH better then last years and it's only 3 years old. Koah, my kitten is adjusting quite well, considering she just got spayed and is now living in a new place. Hopefully she won't destroy the new furniture our schools provided us with her wondering claws.
I'll post some pictures soon!

Advertisement



13th March 2007

Sorry I missed you!
Hey Jess. So sorry I missed your visit to BAE. It would have been great to see you. Glad to see your adventure has begun again. Enjoy and be safe. Lori
13th March 2007

Congrats on your China Photo!
BTW....congrats on your photo of the Great Wall of China being voted in with the highest rated photos on the Blog site.
13th March 2007

Glad to hear you're settling in!
Good to hear from you! I can tell by your blog that you seem happy with everything there. Keep us all posted as to what you are up to...makes me feel like you are not so far away :>) Love Cari ~ xo

Tot: 0.18s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0774s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb