my kids


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
March 9th 2007
Published: March 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I have been here over a month, and it has been an adventure. Teaching can be demanding, I feel as I constantly performing for an audience. I have lost my voice a couple of times. For my kindergarten kids its a balance between teaching the kids how to behave and teaching them english. They want to play games all the time and it can be very difficult to keep them focused, especially brian and louis. When we work on math or other types of worksheets, they often just copy their neighbor. It more important to them to finish then it is for them to understand the material. This is a battle for me, I try to stop the copying, and have everyone listen to me so they will understand the material. I use the board as much as possible, and ask questions to all the kids. But the levels between the children vary, some are so bright and others struggle. How do I find a balance with teach, so I can help the struggling ones and stimulate the kids who are smarter than the material?

It hard to discipline the kids as well. I repeat myself so often and then I finally will punish the kids who misbehave, but more often then not the kids end up in tears. This is hard for me, I don't like to see them cry. The other teachers say that I have to toughen them up, and not to worry when they cry, but this is easier said then done. Some other days go so well, it inspiring to me, they learn and enjoy learning. I love it when the kids tell me they had fun or give me a hug at the end of the day.

But what an amazing experience, I have never done anything like this, and I am impressed with myself and what I can come up with to entertain and teach these kids. I have never been so out spoken before, and in a situation where I have to think on my feet fast, this bring me confidence. And my english is also improving, I know my grammar and can spell much better.

Korea is whole other type of adventure. Its mostly journey of being an outsider, where you are ignored or stared at. No koreans talk to you, and children will point. Its not because they don't like me, but they mostly can't speak english, so they don't want to embarrass themselves and try to converse with me. However, when I do try to converse withe them they are very nice and try to understand. Korea has its been more of personal journey for me. I fight being lonely or intimation of making my way through these differences. Its strange to realize this is my home now. So my life is what it is, and no idea about the future, and I do find a new kind of freedom in that.

This week I will be traveling to Japan to get my work papers. I am very excited about this, another country in my passport. The school pays for this trip. I forgot where I am headed, I believe its one of the smaller islands in japan.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Brian with his rocketBrian with his rocket
Brian with his rocket

This was science class. The kids really enjoyed the balloon rockets. Our theme was outer space.
balloon rocketsballoon rockets
balloon rockets

The balloons are attached to a straw that is on fishing string. The string is attached to the ceiling, so when the kids let go of the balloon, it is guided up to the ceiling.


18th March 2007

Louis loved rocket balloons....
By far one of the best pics I've seen you take- absolutely fantastic!
19th March 2007

18th march
Maggie - I can hardly believe the life you have created for yourself. Whatever the difficulties (and there will probably be many), just remember that you will look back on this time and smile! You go girl!!!
21st March 2007

I can hardly believe it.great
Dear Maggie.I boast about you to everyone I am very proud of you and what you are doing.I love you very very much. Granpa Walter
22nd March 2007

Just catchin up
I have been reading through where I left off in January! I missed alot. Congrats on the job. Your class is adorable. When the kids are running you over, take a deep breath and try to be silly to gain their attention again on what you want them to do. You are awesome !, sounds like you are having a great experience. I hope you have fun with the teaching....you may be the one who learns the most, and thats okay too! I love ya!
27th March 2007

Sounds normal to me!!
So welcome to the world of teaching. Every day is a new experience and you have a great time in the process. It will not take you very long to find that niche you are looking for and the smiles on those little Korean faces will tell the whole story. Keep up the great work and enjoy yourself. Love you -

Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 62; dbt: 0.094s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb