Leaving "home"


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
January 22nd 2007
Published: January 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hot dancers come in colorsHot dancers come in colorsHot dancers come in colors

with Nicole, Jenny, Destini and Joanne at Club i. Jenny, being the chic translator for the singer Rain, fulfilled my dream of meeting Destini, the awesome dancer from "So You Think You Can Dance?"
So the time finally arrive for me to leave Seoul for my 6 month trip. Wow, after a year and a half of living here, I'm actually really sad... to leave family, DK, friends, good food, stable job, clean toilets, kimchee, familiarity.. Well, I guess that's what it boils down to...familiarity, hence the cry-a-thon with Joanne at the Itaewon subway station... plus the 2+ bottles of wine that added fuel to the fire.

It's been 14 months since I've been back home in LA, so while I was in Seoul, I was too busy being homesick for my life in LA. Now, I'm homesick x2, as Korea has been my home for the past one and a half years. I think my life will always consist of being homesick, since I'm always just wandering around.

Well, I'm fully prepared for my trip this time. My first experience to Southeast Asia was a great learning experience, from which I cursed and vowed not to make the same mistakes. I feel much better prepared now, but of course I'll forget something

So far, I've spent a copious amount of money on travel vaccinations (Hep A, Hep B, typhoid, chicken pox,
Joanne and EricJoanne and EricJoanne and Eric

at Our Place, in Itaewon
malaria, polio, flu, diphtheria & tetanus)... for a total of 12 shots! Anyone who knows my phobia of needles knows what an accomplishment this was. I still need to get two more b/c they don’t have Jap B Encephalitis and meningitis vaccinations in Korea. I've also loaded up on Lonely Planet guidebooks (China, Tibet, Nepal, India and Middle East.. yea I know, a library), and bought medicine for any and all types of scenarios. After my unpleasant experience in Cambodia-- where I asked the pharmacist for mosquito relief medicine and he gave me arthritis foot medicine, causing my foot to look like an elephantitis victim-- I did not want to deal with stomach or intestinal problems on some 30-hour train ride. Also, I got travel insurance this time... got the cheapest kind that'll only cover like a cut on my finger .. because nothing bad will happen to me anyway, knock on wood! And finally, I got my China visa, ISIC (International Student Identification Card.. had to pretend to be a student but whatever, a discount's a discount!) and additional pages added to my passport, so I think I'm ready for round 2!

I don’t know what it is
Korean food is soooooo good!Korean food is soooooo good!Korean food is soooooo good!

at Shu-Rak Mountain
that I’m expecting from this trip or what I want to get out of it. But like my dad said, traveling isn’t just about seeing great sites and experiencing new things... it’s about the journey itself.. of developing myself as a stronger and better person...and just finding my true self. My dad did a trip in the U.S. in his orange and brown Volkswagon van.. back in the days when he first immigrated to America. Remnents left behind through his shirtless photos with long wavy hair and cut off jeans. Haha.. guess I"m sorta following in his footsteps.. people always said we were so alike.

I’m leaving in a couple hours on the Weidong Ferry, rather than flying, from Incheon to Qingdao, China. Decided to start my travels the simple way to prepare for what’s to come! Uhmm... Actually, I found out that my overstayed Korean visa has a price tag of $350. But the kind gentleman behind the counter whispered that if I leave Korea by ferry, I can avoid paying the fine. We'll see what happens!


Ciao, I love you!




Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

With the old crew from CDIWith the old crew from CDI
With the old crew from CDI

the night Jin turned into a pyscho bitch (like her shirt indicates). Hahhaahaha! :)
with my LOVE... bingbangbong!with my LOVE... bingbangbong!
with my LOVE... bingbangbong!

at Our Place, in Itaewon
Rudolph!Rudolph!
Rudolph!

Drinking in Kangnam with Andrew and Hyosung...
Canadian Pride!Canadian Pride!
Canadian Pride!

says the only Canadian in sight (miss you Colleen!!!)
Agnes' goodbye party at Harlem (Kangnam)Agnes' goodbye party at Harlem (Kangnam)
Agnes' goodbye party at Harlem (Kangnam)

a place, not for the faint of heart
mi amigas y familiami amigas y familia
mi amigas y familia

(I think that says my friends who are like family)
Dad and IDad and I
Dad and I

on his birthday
great great grandfather's grave sitegreat great grandfather's grave site
great great grandfather's grave site

in the southern Jeolla-do providence
Kunal and Heekyung's wedding!Kunal and Heekyung's wedding!
Kunal and Heekyung's wedding!

Seeing and knowing them since they first met, it was a special day to see them tie the knot.
Who's the Boss?Who's the Boss?
Who's the Boss?

Clubbing at Boss in apkujung with sexy ladies from LA and my good friend Jenny.
chicken skewers anyone?chicken skewers anyone?
chicken skewers anyone?

Ana and I at itaewon
Buckets of snow came from no where (Olivia's obviously not happy)! Buckets of snow came from no where (Olivia's obviously not happy)!
Buckets of snow came from no where (Olivia's obviously not happy)!

at Ewha University. One minute it was a normal winter evening, next, it was snowing like mad!
You want a piece of this? You want a piece of this?
You want a piece of this?

Jenny, Angela and I at a club in Hongdae
Chris thinks he's pimpChris thinks he's pimp
Chris thinks he's pimp

at Kangnam (Jen's goodbye party)
unusual ice formationsunusual ice formations
unusual ice formations

at Shu-Rak Mountain
oppa <3oppa <3
oppa <3

at Shu-Rak Mountain
Not your average advertisementNot your average advertisement
Not your average advertisement

Near the North Korean and South Korean border, there are many of these concrete coverings. If the North were to attack, the South would blow these up as blockades to the main roads (leading to South Korea).


Tot: 0.245s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 21; qc: 114; dbt: 0.1321s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb