Iraq Invades American's Perspective


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
January 1st 2007
Published: January 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Blues Brothers in KoreaBlues Brothers in KoreaBlues Brothers in Korea

A life-size replica of John Belushi (and Dan Akroyd on the other side) as the Blues Brothers celebrate the "Good Bye 2006 Sale!" at this glasses shop in Sunae. I love Korea.
My brother and I rung in the New Year, 2007, in Seoul a couple days ago. He has just arrived in Korea to teach alongside his younger brother for the next year or so. Many beautiful sights and experiences occurred during out New Year's Eve exploration of Seoul, but one particular I would like to relate in detail.

The New Year’s Photo
He and I were enjoying the beautiful lights decorating a popular walkway near City Hall in the center of Seoul. Many people were taking pictures in front of various decorations and both my brother and I lamented that we should have brought a camera.

We walked by a group of foreigners (non-Koreans) posing to take a group photo. The gentleman taking the photograph was clearly going to be absent from the photo so I offered to take a picture for the group of foreigners so that all of them could be in the same picture. It looked as though they had previously been rotating out who would be missing from the picture. After I took a couple photographs for them, one of the guys asked where I was from. There was a split second of strong anticipation
My BrotherMy BrotherMy Brother

My brother decided to make his way over to Korea as well. Not being able to handle the initial excitement, he promptly passed out on my chair and bed, despite having his own bed one floor below in Warren's old apartment.
at the answer and when I responded "America" the guy immediately exclaimed "We're from IRAQ!"

The entire group of 12 to 15 men burst into ecstatic dance, jumping up and down around me. Now instead of taking pictures of them, they asked if they could take a picture of me and before I could even think the words "of course," I had several Iraqi men with their arms around me posing to take pictures. The excitement permeated the crowd and bystanders thinking that this is just a joyous New Years picture-taking-celebration started jumping in the photo. Within the span of 10 seconds, there must have been 8 to 20 photographs taken of this group consisting of 12 Iraqi men, a 50 year-old Korean couple, three random white people, and me in the middle. You don't know how much I would give to be in possession of any one of these photos. Somewhere in the world, there is a photo being shown to friends with the tagline sounding something like "While America and Iraq are at war, we (Iraqis) were in Seoul for New Years 2007 taking pictures with an American! Look; isn't that hilarious?! Ha ha!"

I don't
Bud Heavy KoreansBud Heavy KoreansBud Heavy Koreans

Here's a couple Koreans just enjoying drinking a little Bud heavy outside of Paragon Apartments. King of Beers, even in Korea.
know how I feel about this. Part of me wants to feel that this is a beautifully symbolic image of good-will towards all men in a time when the countries of these men are at war. But most of me is thinking that it will be more of an unbelievably hilarious and ironic bar joke. And it is this conflict of the ultimate meaning of the picture that makes me realize how little I know about the world. I have no clue at all what these Iraqi men were thinking before and after I responded that I was from America. They had to have been anticipating that that would be my answer.

There was no sense of negative feeling surrounding my response. However, at the same time, the positive feeling associated with laughter and elation did not have even an ounce of any feelings of acceptance or brotherhood with which the moment of American and Iraqi union permitted. The laughing was a result of the pure comedy of the situation and due to its lack of goodwill, actually seemed to reinforce the difference in mentality and worlds in which we live.

Though most of the men shook my hand afterwards and thanked me for my generosity or kindness, I sincerely believe their gratitude was less a result of my taking a picture of them as it was of my taking a picture with them. I understand that actions speak louder than words, and their actions of shaking my hand and laughing could be taken as acceptance. But I must say that feelings speak louder than actions, and I received no feeling of acceptance, which boggles my mind. Describing what someone says is relatively easy. Relating what someone does is not as easy, but usually not difficult. Attempting to explain a feeling, sense, or lack thereof can oftentimes be utterly impossible. This is one of those times. I have practically no way at all to effectively explain the feelings surrounding this 5 minute event, though the potency with which I can still feel them is strong.

The Lesson
I wish the lesson that I took from this experience was that Iraqis and Americans do not hold ill-will towards each other. However, I cannot conscientiously say that this is a lesson I took. I wish I could say that the Iraqi men liked me and despite the differences of our home countries, would be willing to befriend me in some circumstance. However, I don't feel this holds true in this particular case. I wish I could end this story with the most simple and beautiful of story endings: "... and they lived happily ever after." This, however, is also not the case.

What I learned from this experience is one of my greatest lessons of my own ignorance. I know so little about other people, other countries, other opinions, other views, other histories, and other perspectives that I feel I have lived in a separate world from many others. My knowledge is and has been so unbelievably limited that I am somehow utterly incapable of even imagining the thoughts going through the minds of those Iraqi men.

My perspective has been limited to the popular American perspective. This point of view has been deemed truth to me, and I have very little idea how to shatter the boundaries it has created within my mind. I want to know another side. I want to know another point of view. I want my world to be turned upside down. I want to form my own opinions based on the opinions of other sides. I want my point of view to be broadened by points of view from which I have been sheltered. I do not think that I have been fooled, or duped in any way. I do not urge to change my current opinions. I simply want to have the knowledge of other opinions with which to base or form my own. I am American. Americans yearn for freedom. I yearn for the freedom of my perspective to be my own. I want to know why America is in the position it is in on the global map. Why is South Korea in the position it is in? Why is Iraq in its position? Why is North Korea the way it is? Why? Why is the world at war?

My American perspective answers these questions as follows: "Because America is democratic, capitalistic, and better. Because South Korea is democratic, capitalistic, and similar to America. Because Iraq is evil and Saddam Hussein was crazy. Because North Korea is communist, and run by the evil and crazy Kim Jong Il. This is why. Question no more. Support America. Give thumbs up to South Korea. Support the destruction (or freedom) of Iraq. Give North Korea thumbs down. Prevent communism. America is good and some other countries are naturally evil. That is why the world is at war. Blame the evil countries."

...something tells me there is more to the story.

Advertisement



4th January 2007

beautiful shawn. well put.
25th June 2007

I am enjoying your blog
I've just dropped in your blog while I was web-surfing for Doosan Bears. Your writing is really brilliant and sound. I am deeply moved by your insight and thoughts. I wish your great time in Korea :) (Sorry for my poor English.)

Tot: 0.335s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.2866s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb