Learning, in and outside of the Classroom


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul » Seodaemun-gu
March 10th 2006
Published: March 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Classes started on Thursday the second. The system here is “try before you buy,” giving students a chance to attend classes before they decide which to take. It turned out to work in my favor, as one I had signed up for was not at all what I had thought it was. Plus another that I wasn't excited about looked like the most interesting class I will have here at Yonsei.

Walking into a sea of people the day classes started jolted me back into a place I had seen before, but I couldn’t quite put my fingers on it. Oh, yes. That was it. A popular Korean soap opera where students ran to and fro greeting one another with huge smiles and words in expressive crescendos that I could not comprehend. As I watched from the doorway, over 70 students fluttered about the room. Unifrom desks seemed to pile over 20 feet high before me. I hesitantly asked one of the girls if this was room 218. After she had strumbled over a few thoughts then confirmed that is was. I went in.

So far my biggest fear was walking into the wrong classroom. Actually...it was more than
Dongdaemun-guDongdaemun-guDongdaemun-gu

Bridge Veiw
this. It was the fear of walking into the wrong class, with the wrong professor. It was that fear of having to justify myself in a language I did not speak, to a group that may or may not understand me. It was the fear of not measuring into a school whose credentials made me feel like a community college student. It was the same nature of fear that came with being in a city that would swallow me whole if I forgot the subway map, the fear of being in a world I was starting to wonder if I belonged.

I took a seat three desks from the front, in the center. It didn’t take long for me to regret this. The professor came in and in his clear, soft voice spoke the words in English that brought my racing heart back down to a subtle beating. After the professor announced to the students that the classroom language would be English, several of the students asked if their papers could be written in Hangol (the Korean language). He said yes because they were not done in the classroom. Then he casually asked, “Is there anyone here who does not speak Korean?”

I froze in shock at the question as I felt the weight of 140 eyes slowly move in the direction of the only non-Korean girl in the class. Me. In the dead center of the room. I raised my hand. He looked at me intensely, “You don’t understand any Korean?”

“No,” I said, but that was a lie uttered merely out of fear.

“But you will be taking some Korean Language Classes, of course?”

“A few.” Another lie.

By this time another student, Go dai, fessed up.

“Wait, you don’t understand ANY Korean? Where are you from?”

“Japan.”

“And you are from across the sea!” the professor stated in half joking manner, “I don’t thing you have an excuse.” The glass hummed with light chuckling.

By the next class period, Go dai had dropped it. I was the lone exchange student who the professor would call on now and then in an almost professional manor, “What are the thoughts on this Subject from the U.S.?”

It was then when I understood what Kristen Shepherd, the Director of International Exchange at Maryville College, meant by being an advocate for your country. I didn’t know that when she said this, it would feel like standing on trial as the sole authority.

Our Professor Youngchul Yoon invited the class to talk with visiting European Journalist. I was surprised to find that out of the now 50 students only eight had come from his class. The topic of discussion was how the younger generation felt about the Reunification of South and North Korea. There were nine journalists from all over Europe, about 10 Yonsei students, my processor, Sarah (a girl from the Netherlands I had invited) and me. The discussion was very enlightening and beneficial. I learned a great deal about the political and economic issues that would come into play if the unification were to take place.

When asked if the students were for the unification, they spoke openly about how it was a “Question of Morality” rather than a question of fact. To say no would be to take the moral low ground, to betray the greater good of one's nation. I was also interested to find that two of the European Journalists from two different countries both supported the idea of Communism being the best solution if the reunification takes place. The topic of U.S. Troops also came up.



I took advantage of the networking opportunity and got as many e-mails as I could. Audrious Matonis, the Editor-in-Chief of the Baltic News Service in Lithuania and I talked after about the challenges that foreigners faced when separated by the language barrier. He asked about my school and about the classes I was taking in Korea. He said if I ever was in Lithuania what I now knew someone. I had similar gestures from a few others, both insisting that I visited their country.

By the time I left, I was at an all time high, practically in disbelief of the event that just took place. It gave me a chance to get to know a few of the girls in my class better and aroused a good discussion between Sarah and I as we walked back to the dorm. Later on, it sparked many topic ideas for my thesis, including the Globalization of Media.

As for classes, I am taking International Communication, which was described above. I am also taking Traditions of East Asia, which breaks down the society and political system of the East based on their defining philosophies such as Taoism and Buddhism. I also am taking 18th Century Novel, where I am yet again the only International Student. Along with these, I am taking the graduate level course Traditional Korean Philosophy, which covers Confucianism. Finally, I am taking a fencing class, and doing a language exchange in Korean.

I spent some time walking around the city observing the different styles of both traditional and of modern architecture. I hope you enjoy the pictures!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Feel like home?Feel like home?
Feel like home?

Not Exactly...


10th March 2006

Intense
Bekah, First day of class sounds so intense! intimidating and exhilirating... Rebekah, I 'm sorry I've missed your calls, keep trying! I want to talk to you. In fact, email me your phone number again. For some reason I don't have it... Also, I just read your journal entry via email..another powerful one...more on that soon.. the pictures are amazing, as usual..nice obeservation on the contrast between modern and traditional life..do you feel like Korea is struggling with identity issues? Also tensions between: eastern/western buddhist/christian communist/capitalist uniting with nkorea/loyal to USA etc identity.. interseting theme for the both of us too, huh? I LOVE YOU. Srh
11th March 2006

hey^^*
i am so glad that you are doing well in Korea, although it seems like you had an awkward feelings and tough situations for the first week of the school..^^ even Korean students go through that kind of "intimadating" situations.. at least I did... i am sure you will do so well~!!! i miss you and i really, really, wished i were there with you and take classes together~~ the spring is coming here in Maryville, and I am excited to see all the beautiful spring blossoms soon. talk to you again! bye!
19th March 2006

...amazing...
Rebekah, Your pictures and writings are beautiful. You have already seen so much. I am mesmerized by the way you have began to capture the culture in your pictures. I really admire your courage for taking such a huge step into such an alien culture to girls back in the states. I hope that the classes improve. At least you can't be called out during the first day of class, since the first day is already over. Sounds like you are going to be crazy busy with work. I hope all is going well. Thanks so much for sharing your jouney.
25th March 2006

hey girl
Dear Beka, Thanks for your entries. Glad to hear what you're experiencing. Praying for you,love ya ooxx!
29th March 2006

Wow
I get chills reading your blogs - thank you so much for sharing what you are going through. You are a talented journalist already!

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0252s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb