Anguk Zen Center Foundation


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul » Jongno-gu
July 30th 2011
Published: August 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So, here's the deal. A good friend of mine has been stuck in Seoul for like 3 months dealing with back pains, going to the doctor, taking tests, and becoming a lab rat for the doctors to asses the problems he's been having. He's tried several times to explain different medical strategies to possibly help his ailments out but the docs have always declined since he's not actually a certified doctor. For example, some time back he asked them to do an MRI. Just do the test. Etc. The docs said it wasn't really necessary. Recently while in Seoul, a doctor said you know what you need an MRI. Seriously! It's been almost a year since the first conversation with the first doc about the MRI. And now his wish had finally come true...

This friend of mine, decided at some point that maybe acupuncture as well as meditation might help him and in this search for non-invasive, ancient medicine, possible remedies he found the Anguk (Ahnkook)
Zen Center. The basics are this, you can come over anytime you are feeling the need to meditate. There are tons of rooms with great fluffy square cushions where you can sit and be alone by yourself to think or meditate. And if you are really up for it you can actually discuss with monks about life, Buddhism, meditation or Zen. My friend, lets give him a name. Joesph. Okay, so I'm in Seoul with Shauna and Joesph says to us are you guys interested in meditation? There's this place that does Zen meditation and they are having a monk speak about it this coming Saturday afternoon? Would you be interested in attending with me? The thing about Joesph, is he didn't actually state that he'd been there before. Nor did he mention how much of this meditation stuff he was truly into.

I figured it was a knock out yes for Shauna but in the end she declined stating she didn't really need to hear what the monk was going to talk about nor did she need help with meditation. At first I hesitated but finally decided, 'sure why not? Plus it'd give me the chance to compare it to Tergar meditation. The stuff I learned back in June at Jogyesa Temple from the Tibetan monk Mingyur Rinopoche.'

It was settled. Meeting at 2pm on Saturday at Anguk Station. Normally getting to Seoul is a cinch. You hope on the old #2200 and it zips you 45 minutes down into Hapjeong where you can grab the #2 Green line train anywhere. However, due to the recent increase in monsoon rains, I decided to try a different plan of attack. I would jump a bus to Geumchon then take a train to Digital Media City station switching trains onto the #3 Orange line (same as Anguk) and be there in just under 2-hours. I figured with the 3-hour bus ride a couple days earlier, this was a smart option.

On Saturday, I took off slightly later than I had intended but felt good about my decision. By the time I made it to Geumchon, I wasn't sure I would be on time. By the time I reached Digital Media City, I knew there was no way in hell, I'd make it to Anguk by 2pm. Without a cellphone on Joesph's end, we couldn't communicate this mishap in calculation on my behalf. By the time I reached Anguk it was 10 minutes to 3:00pm. I sprinted out of the station, up the stairs through exit #2. Checking the closest board, I didn't spot any mention of the Zen center yet I knew the area well. I headed up the street to the tourist information center stopping at the Family Mart for a 2-liter bottle of water and 2-kimbap triangles. Scarfing down the food and slamming back half the water, I continued up the street. Asking quickly, I slowed down and tried a second approach. The two young girls looked at me, looked at each other than looked at the adjumma (older woman). The adjumma, grabbed a map and a highlighter pointing my direction up the street. I jumped on the road and began walking abruptly up the street. As I nearly sprinted up the sidewalk dodging pedestrians in their slowish gait, I spotted a crazy building covered in grass. 'Grass? No seriously? Grass... I'd have to grab a picture later' I thought to myself as I continued up the road. At the point where the building should have been, I searched left, right, high and low for a sign. Nothing. I thought about my brief encounter with their website and thought the lighter grey building on my right looked familiar. I approached with caution until I spotted a monk in his grey outfit. Smiling I jumped inside. Took off my sandals and darted up the first flight of stairs without any idea where I was actually heading.

Arriving at the first floor I looked around. Nothing. Not a freaking soul. I starred off into the darkness then a person in the monk suit pointed up the stairs. He appeared out of no where. Not caring I hopped up another flight of stairs stepping out on the second floor. Looking around sheepishly I spotted a woman at the far end of the room. As I stepped toward her the floor creaked ever so slightly. Startled she spun around. Looked at me. And point to the stairs. 'Damn it! Another flight of stairs?' I laughed spinning on my heels and walked up the stairs to the third floor where a gentleman stood in a very pointy set of dark grey monks clothing. He waved his arms at me and pointed to a room. I wandered down the hall towards the open door unaware of what was about to happen next?

I found Joesph starring out a window. The only person standing in the entire room. There were maybe 25 people all sitting quietly on big plush grey square pillows. As I approached he slowly turned a horrificly large smile on his face, "you made it!" he exclaimed shaking my hand and patting me on the back, "did you get my note?" "Note? What note?" "Never mind. I am glad you made it. It's about to start. Here set your bag over here," he gestured walking me to where a few backpacks and purses sat. As soon as the back was down, I felt the presence of another person. The pointy robe guy was asking us to sit down in the front row. I smiled. Dodging back to my messenger bag to grab my camera. Needed this if I was going to shoot a couple of pics inside this Dharma talk venue.

By this point Joesph had settled into the front on a pair of square cushions. Not needing to be that close to the action, I found a spot near the back corner. Better position for shooting photos and all general not paying attention if this became dry. Or if I needed to sneak out the back door. Joesph didn't mind that I took up perch in the back. Then the speaking monk arrived. Everyone stood up. Someone bounced a wood instrument. Everyone bowed. Then kneel down. Then up. Then the wood sound again. Then everyone said something. And we all sat back down. "Please. Everyone. You can move closer. Please," the monk instructed of the people sitting further back. Instantly he crunched everyone into one space. I stood my ground sticking to the back left corner of the room. "Before we begin, I was thinking maybe some of you would like to share your self with us? Maybe just say a few words. About anything," he said going into a complete emotionless silence. I sat there thinking, 'I really don't have anything to say except.. I feel good. I'm here to compare your Zen meditation to Tergar meditation because I am a spy for Buddha.' Giggling to myself the woman next to me smiled. I smiled back and that's when Joesph stood up. He immediately began to talk, "Please. Sorry. Please introduce yourself first," the monk interrupted him. "Hi. My name is Joesph," he stated. Everyone replied, "Hi Joesph," just like at those AA clinics. I sat. Smiling. Thinking, 'I wonder what he'll say?' then 'damn it. Why don't I own a digital voice recorder?'

That's when it happened, "About two maybe three months ago, I thought I was going to die. No seriously," he began his ever congenial smile on his face, "I was in a bad place. Everything was pain. I couldn't sit. Sleep. Eat. Talk. Work. I couldn't even go to the bathroom without feeling the pain. I had this problem in my back. And the doctors weren't doing anything about it. Then I came here to try and deal with the pain. I did the 7-day intensive course and it helped me associate this deep dark painful horror by subduing it on a conscious level. It didn't cause the pain to go away. But just gave me a way to deal with it." That was it. Well, more or less. He just opened up to the entire group. Then sat down. The monk offered a couple choice tidbits about pain and suffering than asked someone else to get up. "A wise older monk once told me that if you cannot get people to talk you just wait in silence until someone does because eventually someone will always talk," he said then went quiet. I sat there contemplating all that was happening. Waiting for someone to say something. Anything. No movement. The monk looked worried. I thought. 'Jeezus. What the heck is wrong with people today when they can't just stand up and say, Yo this is who I am! It got to me it did. So I raised my hand and stood up like the next fool at the AA meeting.'

I approached from the back to stand at the front. "Hello everyone. My name is Aaron." Hi Aaron," they all said. I looked at Joesph then went on this quick rant about who I am, what I do, why I'm here and told them I wanted to learn more about Zen. I mentioned Mingyur and my success after meeting him. Then said I was a "big fan of Buddha." And still didn't get one freaking smile. Well, except for Joesph because he was thinking what I was... 'why were we the only two sane people with the ability to speak in front of strangers?' We discussed this at the end of the day. But that's not important.

The monk was moved by what Joesph had said. He referred to it often through his Dharma talk. He took in a couple of questions. And taught a few lessons about who people really are. First up. We have this "thing" that manifests inside of all of us. This "thing" he said, was here on the planet before our sentient beings arrived. And it will survive after our bodies die. He said, we are really just a reflector, reflecting other objects around us. Eventually, we would grasp the concept. Ironically, he kept asking if the people in attendance were "getting it?" or "was that too difficult to understand?" The funny thing, is no one really replied to him. They just sat there stone faced without any response. If he'd been some cult hero guy, he could have brainwashed everyone but two of us in that room. Joesph and I would have seen through the mind melt and walked off. But that's just how I perceived it.

In the end this is what I learned at the Zen center. Zen meditation means meditation meditation. Yep. Zen means a type of meditation that originated someplace near India. But made its way through China into Japan where it stuck the most. Besides the weird meaning of Zen or the breakdown of the actual root of where the word originated, we learned Zen meditation is about being a "thing" in this world. It's about being relaxed on the inside with the ability to focus on what is around us. We are suppose to understand that we are just reflecting objects we believe are suppose to be a part of whom we are. But we really don't exist. That our bodies are just a vessel for the period of life, each of us has. And that everything is everything. Or the existence of everything is something but its only something that the "thing" inside of us can ultimately see.

The difference between this thinking and Tergar meditation is that Tergar pertains to the objects around us. Whether these objects are inanimate like the air conditioner, computer, radio, etc or a living creature, birds, humans, tigers, etc or something we are involved with over our lifetime like cancer, Lukemia or tourettes. Tergar meditation teaches you to listen to these things and make peace with it. By making peace with the thing, creature or syndrome you create a bond of friendship. And within this bond you are able to learn to live with everything in life. Plus they teach you can mediate anywhere at anytime. No matter whom you are with or where you are or what you are doing. Tergar teaches you to be in an almost constant place of happiness because you are constantly meditating. Therefore meditation can happen when you are working, jogging, playing sport, at the opera, making love, reading a book, eating ice cream, listening to the air conditioner in a restaurant. They teach you the ways of listening and befriending everything you come into contact with.

So, what does this mean? I have no idea. But the Zen center is a great place to hang out for the day. Meet a monk or two. Get into philosophical questions and debates about what ever is ailing your conscious mind. And still have time for a little tea ceremony and delicious rice cakes in the end. If you are up for a bit of Zen meditation, speaking with an educated monk or possibly taking in that 7-day Zen course then contact the center through the following.

The Dharma Talk Series
Every Saturday until December 31st
Meditation begins at 2:30-3:00pm (optional)
Dharma Talk begins at 3:10-4:00pm
Tea Ceremony begins at 4:10-4:30pm (optional)

Ahnkook Zen Center
10-3 Gahoe-dong Jongno-gu
Seoul 110-260 South Korea
http://www.ahnkookzen.org/English/News_Events.html

Directions: Start at Anguk Station, Orange Line #3. Go out ext #2. Once on the sidewalk continue in the direction you exited the station. Walk up the road to the street light. Continue through this. On the other side is the tourist information center. Get a map (if you like) or continue walking up the sidewalk another 5-7 minutes. When the road begins its ascent up the hill. Stop. Turn to your right. There will be two 5-story buildings. One black. One grey. Go inside the grey building. Look for the strange sculpture at the main entrance (see photos). Take off your shoes when you see the wood flooring. There are shelves for shoes inside. Make your way to the 2nd floor for directions to the meeting location for the Dharma talks.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb