Tours, Nightlife, and learning Korean


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul » Jongno-gu » Insadong
July 1st 2010
Published: July 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well, it's been a while! I have so much to write; so let's dig in. First, I just want to let you all know how much I miss you! I have been having the experience of a life time here in Seoul. I wish I could stay forever! Thank you to all those who made it happen.

Down to business. I have made so many new and cool friends here! Last weekend a group of us went out to Hongdae. Right off the campus of Hongik University, Hongdae is a hub for young people out on the town in Seoul. Full of the most GORGEOUS men known to man, I found that it was the perfect place for me. After getting all dolled up and fancy, we all decided on a traditional Korean dinner. BBQ. YUM! It was probably the best meal I have had to date. Kimchi included. (I'm starting to develop a taste for pickled spiced cabbage; my colon however...not so much) It was relatively cheap too and VERY filling. After that, we went to a bar and had a few cocktails, which were very well mixed by the bartender in my photo. Then off to the clubs we went! For 15,000 won, (roughly 12 dollars) you can purchase an all inclusive bracelet that lets you club hop for free! What a deal! We started out at a hip-hop club called NB1. Full of fake fog, Korean B-Boys got down, man! These people don't mess around with their Hip Hop for sure. It was amazing! After shaking our groove things there, (I danced with several CUTE Korean men...WHO WERE BUILT) we moved on to another club called NB2. This club we thought would be totally less crowded considering that there were three floors for dancing. THIS WAS NOT THE CASE. I have never been pinched, pushed, grabbed, and had dongs ground into my butt more than I had at that club. There was barely room to stand and move, let alone dance! By the time we realized we didn't want to stay there, we were caught in a crowd so thick that it was a little dangerous at times. After making it to the downstairs bar, we were stuck. Stuck in between a bar and about 1,000 sweaty Koreans. It was a daunting task to get out of that place. Not to mention the fact that I was out with a Finnish girl, and English girl, a German, a kid from Denmark, another kid from Portugal, three Koreans, and a guy from France. So when I tell you how I saved the day by getting us out of that place using my man muscles and shoulders, know that I was seriously reppin' for the good ole' US of A.
Okay, here we were; trapped at the bar, having no place to go. So I put my hands on the bar and hulk-style pushed the crowd back and let our whole party go underneath me, German Kid cleared a path, and we totally made it out of that place in record time. Now, every Korean in that place hated us, but I don't care. It was horrid. Back out in the street, we went back to the first club and thrashed the night away...or at least until we all were ready to drop from exhaustion. So out of the club we went to find a taxi to take us back when we discovered a park right in the middle of Hongdae that had turned into a club in and of itself! It had a swingset, a bar, a band of Korean guys drumming and singing, people dancing, and lights flashing in trees! How cool is that? We hung out there until around dawn and decided to take the subway back home. All in all, a great night.


The next day, I woke up and decided to take a walk; I walked into a market place full of all of the crap I wanted, but none of the crap I needed. I walked maybe 8km that day, and found a palace to tour. It cost me a few dollars, but seeing this place was amazing. I saw the most beautiful gardens here, and the secret garden that the royal family kept. It's beautiful how the architecture fits and stands out against nature here. The buildings are covered in carvings, and paintings, and clay plates with such intricate designs that it blows my mind how well they have stood the test of time. It made me want to build something that could last that long. I loved every minute of the tour, and I totally touched everything I wasn't supposed to. I didn't get caught though. Mostly because I'm that slick. I think I had more fun learning about the history and culture of Koreans than I did clubbing in Hongdae.

These are a mysterious people who at first to foreigners come off as closed off and docile, but are in fact some of the nicest, warmest, welcoming, passionate people in the world. Every World Cup game that Korea was playing in EVERYONE was out in the streets cheering and wearing the colors of Korea. I even purchased a red Korea Fighting shirt and wore it out that night! It was one of the most unifying experiences I have ever had.They have an intense pride in their country; in the U.S. wearing an Eagle and an American flag is a joke; a sign of something purchased at Wal-Mart, and associated with trailer trash. Here, it is a way of life. EVERYONE was celebrating together. It didn't matter who you were, where you were from, or what you did; if you had a red shirt on, you were okay. I was accepted into a culture that was not my own for one night. I'll never forget it and will forever be thankful.

I have found Koreans to be very kind; ESPECIALLY if you show an effort to speak their language. I have murdered almost every phrase in the Korean language, but I have often been helped out by strangers. They are so sweet and helpful in getting me to say the right things. Funny story: I was with a group of people saying "Kojo! Kojo!"(let's go, let's go) the Korean guy I was with laughed at me and told me I was not saying it correctly. Instead of saying "let's go, let's go" I was saying (rather loudly) "guy with no dick, guy with no dick" He said "no, no. It's Kaja! Kaja!" No wonder I was getting dirty looks from small Korean old ladies! Whew! So in return for his help, I let him raid my itunes for new music. Can I just tell you I got like six Koreans hooked on the band Heart? Oh man, they went crazy for that hair-band version of "Alone". I mean, I love 80's power ballads, but WOW. They really loved that one. I've learned quite a few phrases thus far, and am only hungry for more. So far this experience has been one I'll never forget. I love it here.


Tucker, you are never far from my thoughts. I've told everyone about my two younger bro-sins and what amazing people you both are. I love you all. Annyong-haseyo!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb