This is the end...annyong kaseyo


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul » Gwanak-gu
July 17th 2010
Published: July 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

2 years 2 months...737 days. That is the culmination of time spent in the land of the morning calm. I can't say all of it has been great, but I can't say it's all been terrible either. It is what it is. It was my life...my routine. It seems strange and almost scary to leave the 10 by 25 shelter I call home. That doesn't mean I am not ready to leave. I feel like I have accomplished more than what I was expecting to when I first came over. I have made great friends and shared happy and sad memories with all of them. I have seen what is like to be a minority for once in my life, and grapple with different cultural values on a mundane level. There is not much more to tell of my time here in Korea. I have traveled the peninsula, fallen asleep on the subway, rafted 2 rivers, been robbed, shared a holiday with a Korean family (which Seamus and I seemed to crash), watched Korea beat Greece in the World Cup amongst 20,000 screaming Koreans in City Hall, Been called a Negro by a Ajjoshi (old man), swam in the sea, built
ride aloneride aloneride alone

on the way to Cheorwon...old North Korean town
raging bonfires on islands of the mainland, traveled to Cambodia, Borneo and Jakarta, ate silkworm larva, renewed my passion for ping pong in a dingy basement with a bunch of Ajjoshis, learned to speak the language (chogum), climbed a mountain to watch the sunset on the city, got into a legal battle with a Korean business owner (on going), taught a handful of Korean students the ABC's and 123's, learned to rock climb, Sang Karaoke until 7 in morning, etc...

There are more to tell, but how do you sum up 2 years of your life in a few paragraphs. You can't, at least I can't. I will have to tell you in person and even then, I'm sure I will be leaving out special moments. I leave Korea on August 2nd, and will travel to Vietnam and Laos for roughly 5-6 weeks. Not sure what the plan is when I get there, but that's half the fun.

I don't know what is next for me. I know that I want to be home for a while, and take in Oregon, family and friends. I will say that the adventure is not over, and I look forward to
bus viewsbus viewsbus views

on the way to Cheorwon...old North Korean town
what lies ahead. Thanks for following my blog while I was here, although the last year was sparse in writing. I guess it just became routine to the point where you stop noticing the little things that make you say "wow, I am in Korea!"

Here are some pictures from the past few months. I have a few more up on flickr as well. You can see them at http://www.flickr.com/photos/38287208@N05/

Anyone that would like a postcard or letter while I am traveling, please send me your addresses, I would love to write you and tell you about the journey. Take care and see ya in September!




Additional photos below
Photos: 39, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

North Korean buildingNorth Korean building
North Korean building

what's left of an old North Korean government building
Check pointCheck point
Check point

Very near the DMZ
the han riverthe han river
the han river

will definitely miss this area.
koreanskoreans
koreans

afraid of the sun
won't you be my neighborwon't you be my neighbor
won't you be my neighbor

This is the view out the the hallway window in my building.
subway bridgesubway bridge
subway bridge

going over the han
ChingusChingus
Chingus

Justin, Christine and Ben
JungJung
Jung

My last two 6th graders
JoeJoe
Joe

My last two 6th graders
on man on man
on man

business time
marketmarket
market

lots of store fronts look like this.
raftingrafting
rafting

Last rafting trip for 4th of July.
Zen RockZen Rock
Zen Rock

atop zen rock for sunset


16th July 2010

another adventure in a span of 27 years!
Dear Joe(y), What better gift could we have given you and Annamarie than to introduce you to the world outside of your own town, state and country? Even though I have missed you "terribly" you have shared with Dad and I a part of the world that we have had only a "taste" of! I have loved your blogs! You write from both your heart and your eyes! I will be thrilled to hear of your "new" adventures ahead over the next month! Keep writing , sharing and sending photos! Thanks you for letting us see that part of the world from your perspective! I count myself one the "luckiest" mother's around to have such wonderful children! I love you so much!!! XOXO Mom
22nd July 2010

full circle
Joe, many of people dare their minds and souls into jumping off the edge of familiarity to swim with the unknown. Most dont....but you my friend are just crazy and comfortable enough to embrace the CALLING--thats what I love about you. Chinua Ichibe once wrote a book titled Things Fall Apart and after reading it I realized time has a funny vortex that seems to defy the body and mind and most things carbon based. You my friend have been putting things together and I want to encourage you to keep hacking at the puzzle. much love and we'll see you in September
4th December 2010

Hey man...thanks for the love...it was great seeing you this summer and looking forward to seeing you around Christmas...take care man and keep up the good energy.
29th March 2011
Outside Sindorim

the bridge now is GONE!! :(

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0273s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb